About MIDI. (interface and stuff)

juube

Hey people. I'm considering getting a midi interface. But i was just wondering if i could use a usb cable to the computer or line in a keyboard to achieve the same results as using a midi interface.
Btw, those who have used midi, some advise on how to use it well would be great :)

juube, maybe you could let us know about your setup? Like what keyboards and midi gears you are intending to connect. Also what is your expansion plan like in the next 1 year?

Oh.. I'm using logic express. Running on a mac. The keyboard i'm using is Alesis QS8.2.. I'm doing a poly course now so have to learn. Ii'm thinking of getting a midi interface so i can do midi stuff whenever i want to.
I'm really new to all these so i could use a whole load of advise;)

Juube, The QS8 does not have a USB port. So the only way to connect to your PC for midi is using a midi interface. You have 2 choices.

1. USB midi interface (eg M-audio) - 1x1 would suffice. Connection will depend on what you want to do - whether you want to trigger softsynths/VSTis in your notebook, or for sequencing and eventually playback using your QS8 sound. If it's for triggering VSTis, connection will be:

QS8 midi out -> midi interface midi in -> notebook USB

If you want to sequence and playback with your QS8, you'll need the above connection PLUS:

Midi interface midi out -> QS8 midi in.

2. Audio interface with built-in midi - IF you are going to get an audio interface anyway. If you're using a notebook, firewire is the way to go. If desktop, then the choices would be firewire or PCI/PCIe. There are USB audio interfaces, but they are slower than firewire.

Oh.. Thanks Cheez. I would probably then get a USB MIDI interface. I'm thinking of getting an audio interface but that would be in the future. Is there such a thing as a firewire MIDI interface?? Where can i get a good MIDI interface?