Strap lock

marshall_law

Hi
I bought a jim dunlop strap lock, i though it was just clip and lock on. But to my horror, it needs to be screw on. I'm not very good at drilling and stuff. Is there a service that can help me put on the strap lock or is there anyone here willing to do it for me?

You should be able to put the straplock into the hole where the original strap pin was. If you need some screws to match then you can drop me a line and I can give you a couple as I have a lot of spare screws and some that may fit.

cheers,

mark.

There’s a simple user remedy for this- fill the cavity with match stick & then screw the strap lock base in. If you ask your dealer to fit this contraption on your behalf, chances are, he’ll do likewise. That’s the problem with strap locks- their base radius isn’t of a universal size.

Alternatively, do away with your strap lock & purchase D’Addario’s Planet Lock which is a clever locking strap, that doesn’t require a carpenter’s tinkering, to use. If memory serves, it’s $14 @ Swee Lee.

This thread would inevitably trigger concerns about both the Strap Lock & the Planet Lock straps giving way over prolonged use- I know because I started the Planet Lock recommendation thread…

I was finding out more about straplocks and i found schaller's. Anyone heard about them. Many positive comments about them. Anyone know any shops here sell them?

It’s individual preference at the end of the day.

Those who chose the Planet Lock, invests in a single strap for all his/ her guitars/ basses, as oppossed to one Strap Lock per guitar. We understand if you have only one guitar & choose to invest in something personal.

marshall_law said:
Hi
I bought a jim dunlop strap lock, i though it was just clip and lock on. But to my horror, it needs to be screw on. I'm not very good at drilling and stuff. Is there a service that can help me put on the strap lock or is there anyone here willing to do it for me?