Steve Stevens Rebel Yell

guitarsan

OK, show n tell time. I just got myself a Bare Knuckle Steve Stevens Rebel Yell . I took a gamble and bought it blind as I've not heard its tone before. Visually, the humbucker is cool and stunning. Maybe that's one reason I bought it. :wink:

Here's a Rebel Yell sound clip from Mr. Steve Stevens himself (wish I could play like him! :lol: )

http://bareknucklepickups.co.uk/forum/viewtopic.php?t=3433&sid=0b3afc9c7628df5be6f4b8782e4d05a5

The "distressed" camo cover of the Warpig also look impressive, but its output is way too heavy for me. Therefore I gave it a miss.

Below are some pics of my Rebel Yell (if you're old enough, you'll remember this is a Billy Idol's retro song :wink: ). Notice the burnt chrome and the "Ray Gun" design. Overall, the tone IS fantastic.

I also got The Mule in another guitar. By the way, anyone here also a fan of BKP pickups?

P1000661.jpg

P1000663.jpg

wow very nice man., ive never seen this guitar, well i didnt know it was a signature one anyway.

sounds pretty sweet.

subversion said:
the Warpig is my special order actually...
So you're the one who ordered. Which lucky guitar are you putting the Warpig into? I like the marketing slogan of the pig - "a true beast, heavy as hell itself"! :smt077

was tempted to get the nailbomb or the rebel yell. but the price was a bit steep for me. did you get it online from BKP itself? or from G77? nice cover, and can't wait to hear your clips! cheers

vheissu said:
y got so many knobs one?
Dun know.....comes like that one. :wink:

But good also lah. Beez is kind enough to do a push/pull coil split on the 2 tone knobs for both humbuckers. The quasi "single coil" tone also sound very shiok. Now got 8 combinations of tone to mess around with! :smt110

amazing pickups.... just one Q, whats the difference between the calibrated pickups and non-calibrated ones? and whats the diff between covered and exposed(other than looks)? :?

Im a convert, i just changed the stock mccarty pickups on my mccarty rosewood to a set of calibrated mules. The stock pickups were pretty nice, but the bass was boomy and the treble was too piercing in certain situations. Also i thought the pups were muddy and voiced a little dark for my amp in both positions. The Mules are the same kind of PAF type output, but note seperation and balance is much better. Cleans are chimey, almost strat like, and the humbuckers split very well. Them seem to be just a hair hotter than the mccartys, overdriven they retain note clarity very well, nice and punchy. I like them better than the mccarty pups both clean and overdriven. Mine's calibrated, very balanced across all positions.

I was really hesitant about laying out the cash for the BKPs, but i must say they are worth the money. G77 really made a good call bringing these in i think.

platypus said:
amazing pickups.... just one Q, whats the difference between the calibrated pickups and non-calibrated ones? and whats the diff between covered and exposed(other than looks)? :?

someone answer me pls.. also whats the diff between a 4 conductor cable and 2 condtuctor braided cable?