re: drum lessons

nothing's better than an actual drumset cause of the angles and positions the toms are placed. but in the mean time, try getting a practice pad and working on your hands first. if it's really that bad play on your sofa or something, haha.

Air drumming also helps, i'm not kidding... my teacher(well more like my cousin :lol: ) air drummed alot and he's really quite pro... and i'm doing alot of that now... but precise air drumming, not nonsense-act-cool sorta air drumming... other than that u can sit on ur bed, stack ur pillows around and try... but yeah...

If ur foot's weak, yet u got no drumset, again air-drum and work ur legs... like lift up and down... can treat them as exrcises also... then maybe someday u might master blastbeats too :lol:

Yes like what distorted_soul mentioned....air-drumming for foot is also what my Instructor always asked me to do...for instance while watching TV & such...it developed the legs muscles for both Right & Left legs...

PS: Tell you a secret here - I never did (cause I'm quite lazy doing that)...Hahahaha :lol: ...but that is a good way to practice.

chick drummers ooooooo, very musical. woman i feel tend to think of drumming in colors, they hear the music very differently then guys. guys alot of the times tend to steamroll through a song. girls listen abit more and are not to eager to jump right it, the color the music better.
i haven't seen tht many funky solid female drummers although i'm sure there are lots, the ones i've seen up close are the jazzers, free form. they color the music real well. sorry if i dun make sense

Josie you said "nothing's better than an actual drumset"......that's also what is suggested in an article by Dave Weckl in this month Jan 2007 Modern Drummer Magazine -

Dave suggestion was that the CORE REASON HAS SOMETHING TO DO WITH - ---- "Rebound".

Borders in Orchard Road Brings in alot of Modern Drummer Magazines each month.

They use tio sell Drums & Drummer Mazazines too...one of this which they have discontinued liao.....cheers :lol:

yea borders has the greatest choice. dude rudimental drummer! i'll be taking lessons from your teacher as well as mr tamagoh! haha.

Wow.ww Congate Bro...I'm so happy for you....Yeah Tony told me that you will start after your School-Tour (something like that)....and that will be great.

Joshie..you beat me jolly well liao, I got one Sifu - you got 2 Sifu....It's always good to learn from as many Sifu as possible, so you can have have diversity in ideas.

Think I better go look for Alvin soon also..... :lol: :lol: :lol:

haha soon soon, takes time. nah i didnt go for the school thing, having stomach flu, yea i'll be calling him soon.

yea borders has the greatest choice. dude rudimental drummer! i'll be taking lessons from your teacher as well as mr tamagoh! haha.

That's great to hear, let us know how the lessons go :)
When are you starting?

hey guys i really do have a question i need to ask.

what kind of genres do these people teach? i.e. Alvin haha, and the various above mentioned instructors. I really need a drum teacher that can teach me alot of cool stuff like jazz, bebop, shuffle, samba - latin, and whatever genres. i like funk and blues / rock kind of drumming too but these, in my opinion, can be more or less self taught. the important thing is to have creativity injected to it. Well thats also important for any genres.

But anyway, is SoMA - School of Music and the Arts good? I really wish i got learn from Boon Gee as i have seen him play so much and i definitely would like to adopt his style. So any softies out there have been to SoMA before? can you tell me how the lessons are like and so?

also, i heard from other people that when you learn individual, i assume without a structured course, you tend to learn your tutor's style of playing only. is that true? i aim to be as versatile as i can be, as a drummer, thats why i am looking for someone to teach me haha.

and whats the average price range for an individual lesson? just wondering :)

Thank you,
Melvin

wah lao joshie, so many teachers u have, confirm loaded ah u.. haha

melvin, an individual lesson would be around the range of 50 to 70 dollars per hour pending to the teacher lah how much they want.

cheers to all fellow drummers:d...

Melvin

All Drum Instructor will teach their students (all generes of music) eg from basic Rock to, Samba, Bossanova, Funk, Blues, Shuffle, Jazz to Latin, Brazilian kind of beat....There is a basic...then you move to more advance type of playing these.....

Rudiments & Stick Control etc......always on-going one. As you have mentioned so correctly - to inject creativity into it...but I realise that havinga Drum Instructor will help us so much on these crusial areas...rather than we developing it ourself...initially...The Instructor is able to do that better, because of Their Experience in teaching and in so many area in drumming, they are much more expose than we ourself. BUt most of all - they will guide us along the right path along our learning.

What is SOMA (I really don't know), but this Boon Gee play in Thompson Big-Band right? and yes he is good and I heard he is a very young man (wow).

Somehow...yes I agree with you - when you learn from one Instructor individually - a student tend to adopt the instructor style of playing...it's natural I supposed....cause that's the only reference....but this is I think not so important...because a drum student might need years just to develop the very basics of drumming...so for a start I think it's ok to learn from one Instructor for a few years than...learn from other drum Instructors when we are at Intermediate or Advance stage....and we should do that - it's good for us to be versatile and learn from other Instructor wo have their own style of playing...Maybe at the end of the day - we absorb and have our own style ..a little from this or that instructor and also by then - we are able to develop our own through experience drumming.

There are quite a few good Drumming Instructor in Singapore....within Soft Music here...Alvin is one of them...In fact I'm comtemplating to learn from him in a few months time very soon.

How good a drummer you will be - depends on you yourself at end of day. The amount of time you can or are willing to commit in your practice after the once a week lesson....and it's a long process. So Stamina & Disclipine & witholding that Passion within oneself is very important.

I learned alot and is still learning, take all the good advice too. Going for my drum lesson every week by itself is not going to make me a good drummer (even if I just practice & practice for years)....I need to be expose...meaning taking what I've learn (beside practicing at home) by playing along or Jamming with a band helps me in a way too...that is "How To Work With Other Musicians As A Group"...

You know brother, I thought I was good...then I realise I cannot apply all the things I've learn when Jamming with a band...it's so different, I've to play accordingly, orcestrate with them, so that the band is tight - then it sound good"...no need to play fancy fancy fill-ins or whatoever stuffs one....But I've learn alot from jamming also (have to be thick-skin abit)...even I cannot..I just play loh...Kekekeke...learn mah....Wah...they talk things like "Into, Verse, Bridge..how to start, how to end, must arrange the music...all these which I don't know one"...but I know a little bit only now...at least I know mah...it's fun.

My only advice is - must have an Instructor, not just an instructor...but a good one. Teaching is altigether very different fron one playing himself. A Drummer can be very good himself, but doesn't means he can teach very well...if he lack the teaching experience...this is very true. Choose the right Instructor....because you will be spending quite some time learning from him...and time is money too and it's precious.

PS: - The last time I said..accenting on the hats must be using shaft slapping the bow of the hi-hats....just this past Saturday, my sifu teach me to play something on hats (but I cannot use the Slapping on bow techniques)...I have to hit the hi-hats using the shaft at the edge of the hats...and you know what?...Alvin was right...when I argue with him over this the last time....

What I am trying to convey is - there is an appropraite time to do/use certain techniques, (even though there are so many ways of doing it), so that we get the right sound, using the right thing for that moment....so one-year of my learning is still far far away....so much to learn somemore...

Hahahaha also..please note that "Learning the Ninchaku Thing" like the John Blackwell Twirl for instance those fancyful Entertaining stuffs is not important (till you are very good in drumming) and don't ask the Instructor to teach you those.....Hahahahaha :lol: My sifu give me one kind of look when I asked him on the 1st-day of learning...that's not what I came to learn from him...he say..but to play drums...not Bruce Lee Kang-Hu lah...Kekekeke ...so funny man.

Cheers !

woah RD, can write a short essay ah.. well RD is quite right lah.. listen to him is like listening to an already experience veteran.. oh well maybe someday all of us can be as great....

keep on the drumming spirit fellow drumming bros:D...

ps: when going to have the gathering?

Bro marcdadrummer

don't make me ma-lu ley...say I long-winded izzit here har...Kekekeke :lol: .. and I'm really not an experience veteran lah (I'm a 1 year old drum student only) and many of you here are definetely better than me and I'm sure of that.

It's just that I wasted so many years, happy play along with song, not happy don't touch the drum for 3 months also can when I was younger, with no self-disclipine, no passion...and I'm still so lousy after many many years..till I realise myself....Self Disclipine & stamina besides getting a good Drum Instructor is most important to a learning drummer....so I share

Today I work so blady hard on my drumming, spending at best (after work)only 2 to 3 hours a night....and I found I had improve (though still far from being average)..so you know - how chia-lat I was before.

We drummers need a lot of motivation & inspiration to keep on drumming & improving...cause...Drumming is really not easy lah....and we all want to be an Awesome Drummer oneday...don't we?...let's go for it man.