Producing and Directing Music Videos

Mortichro

ITS BEEN A WHILE SINCE IVED LOGGED IN hehe sorry for the caps i just missed this place its been a long time since i lurked.. (too busy with school i guess)

ANYWAY... back to my topic. I'ved been studying Filming in Lasalle for half a year now.. well i just started and.. ived seen works from michel gondry and well i was impressed. I really want to produce and direct music videos for the local scene. wondering here in singapore do you think local bands are willing to pay like at least SGD $1000 or $2000 bucks to make a simple music video?

Ived seen some bands like electrico or plainsunset having their own music videos.. but i believe that if other unknown local bands who really want to break through would want a music video for them self because i believe that if not only audience or people can hear but see their music in visual form... i think they would have a bigger impact and people would want to get to know their bands even more.. Remember punkrockvids.com? they have alot up coming bands just coming out and they already have a their own music video.

SO as a future filmmaker.. i asked you musicians.. would u have your own music video for your band if you are serious about it.. and willing to pay (coz i would love to direct your music videos one day :D )

range!

gives some range of prices..
maybe ppl would consider.. etc
simple mtv- $200 to $500
average mtv - $550 to $800....
so on..:)

well the thing is... equipment rental aint that cheap lol... and we film makers also need some money to live on you know lol.. but even though im paid for my own the sum of less than $400 for one music video its ok because it is for the sake of art

yea i guess i understand equipmental rental ain't cheap, n definitely film makers need $$ to live on,but dude its not like we music makers dun need $$ to live on oso man haha...i guess for an indie underground band to fork out $1k or 2 is abit way too steep la n yea im not trying to flame ur thread but im just stating a fact :)

For video 1k or 2k is super cheap!

The videos you see of Plainsunset and Electrico cost more that twice that amount.

Most film companies will start talking at around the 10K mark for a very basic video!

yeah its what i call production costs lol... its expensive in a way to pay their crew, equipment, food, transport and most important location rental. I mean with 1k, we can rent equipment like a panasonic hvx with a 35mm lens (to have that film look) or extended lens at $400 to $800 a day to rent lol.. and it might not only take one day to shoot a proper (at least look good) video it might take 2 to 3 days. With the leftover money we can rent other equipments like lighting or dolly. Well.. haha i guess maybe the simpler the music video the cheaper lol..

well i guess u may have a point there, but the problem is seriously how many band in their indie period(which i feel most of the sg bands r still in,correct me if im wrong) are willing to fork out 1k or 2 to shoot a music video, its not that im against the idea or sumthing i have to say but its just abit hard man i guess :)

i won't have that kind of money to shoot a video. and besides, a lot of these companies already own the equipment needed. if the TS has his own equipment it will be feasible for him to charge lesser. but considering the TS is still a student, unless he can borrow from school, its a bit unlikely he can get it cheap for us

Personally, I would not pay any less than S$1.5k if I were to require a music video done for myself or my band.

People generally do not understand the logistic, the planning, the manpower and the creative aspect of shooting an MTV.

A lot of man hours involving so many parties are needed to even start the creative planning, the location recce, the redtape involved if permission is needed to film at a desired location.

Don't even get me started on the equipment ie. the videocamera, the jig, the dolly, the lighting equipment. Unless you are talking about a brainless production, or an animated MTV lah.

So, TS - maybe you are seeking out business from the wrong market. Evidently, unless they are famous and under a professional label, I don't think these kids would afford it, or would even want to spend that kinda money on shooting an MTV that is professionally done.

I'm sure it sounds like a good idea because it seems that the scene is full of indie bands but the reality is, how many are very serious about putting their music out there, and willing or even have the money to spend their money to expose themselves?

I am sure you can try to ask around some more, and there will be some bands or singers who would want an MTV done for under S$1k, if you can work something out for that kinda amount even. I am sure some people have quite low expectations.

No harm trying. :D

Personally, I would not pay any less than S$1.5k if I were to require a music video done for myself or my band.

well..well...rich man talking in a rich man's world...hmmm sound like some ABBA song....honestly u dun need to spend big $$ just to prove how serious a band is letting their music known n expose themselves...there are more gigs event ard in sg den u can imagine to expose ur band...its not that we dun understand the logistic, the planning, the manpower n all the sh*t to make a good mtv....but hello~~its $1k $2k we r toking abt not $1 $2 for a plate of chicken rice...can lar maybe if ur band member all earning 3-5k a mth or ur band member all rich man's son den i nuthing to say lor......n calling us kids huh, i really wonder if there r any grown ups who would talk so insensibly doubting other bands seriousness about letting their music known without understanding the plight of poor bands(as in no $$) n thinking they should fork out that much money for an mtv just for exposure n to show how serious they r...c'mon man getting a song recorded in a recording studio ain't cheap alrdy.......make an MTV somemore,unless ya ur damm rich lor.....

P.S: IM PISSED TO BE CALL A KID!! n sorry if this sounded harsh, Im not flaming and got nuthing against the TS idea,im just pissed when someone doubt other ppl's(including mine) seriousness n passion abt letting their music known

forget about making money mate.... years ago, i shot a gigs using 2 pd150 and a consumer DV and hired 2 cameraman for the shoot. charged each bands $150 and 5 bands paid.
it was shot in substation without any programmed lighting or stuff.... just house light.
in the end, i got screwed by some bands saying the pay "quality money" $100.... and get nowhere near concert standard????? i was like???? i shoot, edited and delivered the end product and got shit. been in the broadcast industry for almost 10 years now and that's the first time and last time i'm gonna do this kind of shitty jobs.
just not worth all the effort to earn nothing in the sake of helping... once you collected money, they would think they paid " quality money" even if it's $1. ;)

well..well...rich man talking in a rich man's world...

whats with your language? he's asking for feedback and you say that, well that's kinda a downer?

and why won't indie bands fork out for a good record of their youth? 30 years down the road to keep a great video of themselves when they were young, is that too hard to imagine? people spend $1-2k a year just changing handphones, SOFTies spend WAY more thanthat gassing for pedals, guitars, amps and other weird stuff, and bands can't collectively fork out $1-2k for an MTV?

wow i wonder.

Well but the way he put it is as if shooting an MTV is the only way to get exposure n prove their seriousness in music, not like wad u said keeping it for memories 30yrs down the road....what more i alrdy said im not against the idea of shooting an MTV that is if u have the $$...n ur comparing changing of handphones with passion for music haha guess i got nuthing to say more....im not picking a fight with you but on the contrary i just wanna clear the air that i just dun like hes attitude of saying things.....u can get pissed at me for all u wan n for all i care n my post above already speaks the reason y im pissed...Good Day

P.S: IM FCUKING PISSED TO BE CALL A KID!! n sorry if this sounded harsh, Im not flaming and got nuthing against the TS idea,im just pissed when someone doubt other ppl's(including mine) seriousness n passion abt letting their music known

Sorry, man.

I was particularly talking about anybody and definitely not targetting anybody.

Definitely not you.

I am sure others call other young people 'kids' too. Nothing derogatory, just a general term. Remember the Robbie Williams' song 'Kids'?

Rather than wasting your time getting angry and pissed, maybe you should spend more time improving your music.

Not that I think it's sucky because I don't even know you or heard your music before.

The local music scene has been doing great without professionally done MTVs, so it is more of a marketing tool rather than a must have. So, if you've got marketing budget, then maybe you can afford MTVs.

That's why said unless the bands are under a label with a marketing budget to spend for an MTV, then the idea wouldn't really work.

:cool:

you cannot get a decent music video done in less than $1000, unless you manage to accumulate ALOT of goodwill.

IT can be.. just need the creativity thats all.. dont have to go all expensive for more then $1k to have an awesome music video bud.

well..well...rich man talking in a rich man's world...hmmm sound like some ABBA song...

Well actually i dont mind not getting paid myself to make a music video, its just the equipment. I want to make a music video one day i really do, it'll benefit both the musician and the videographer as well. Im not saying you have to or you must have a music video, its not really necessary you know. Its just that I wanna start somewhere in making a music video... you guys have gigs and stuff to expose yourself, i have only short film festivals which i think not many people would even aware of. I love music and i want to make music visually and aesthetically good

i mean we are artiste and we want to make art be it music or film we both have the same goal, to get exposed. I mean even if im not making music videos and if i make a short film or feature film, i will be so sure to use local scene music to also expose them in it. I am dedicated to bring the local scene to its best.

Rather than wasting your time getting angry and pissed, maybe you should spend more time improving your music.

Im getting pissed on my own free time n i dun see what has getting pissed gotta do with improving music....and most of all i guess i dun need anyone to tell me to not waste time n improve on my music....ok i guess we should stop this arguement anyway....but wadever it is if u dun like my attitude or wad in anyway i apologize too