aireydon
noticed that recently there seems to be more and more live bands popping up at pubs and such...and more bands are adding keyboards to their set up.
any one wana share their experience/opinions of live keyboardists? dun see much discussion about live playing here hor....while we are a rare no. and always hidden behind our walls of sonic power doesnt mean we cant stand out !
1. How the pros and giggers play live. ( lazy or massive patchwork? sequencing or no sequencing? amazing technique?)
2.Stage presence (is this term even applicable to us.? visually? or sonically? )
I'm lucky to be amazed by some cool ivory/plastic tinklers@ pubs...these are my personal favourite top 5. do check them out!
1. LONG BAR( raffles hotel,local )
genre:Wiiiide!!..the band's playing for more than 10 years...from 70s to top 40s.
Motiff ,a roland synth and (i cant see) maybe a digital piano.
This guy is not lazy with his patch work....from organ solos to TOTO african bells to van halen synths to brass..got it all...even got the occasional sequencing with sound effects and stuff..
alota home work done! no PC sequencing.!.WORKSTATION and hardware seq is the way to go for this guy! and he sounds better than the rest below!
2.Notty girl( Next Step band,our dear frends frm the phillipines..). cool guy who sings both lead and backup, does occasional sequencing, both intros(non clicks) and full song clicked sequencings...knows when to push and pull his chops and punches...(knows when to destroy the guitarist and when to support the 6-stringer basking in self obsessed limelight...)
Korg micro X, roland Juno G, some hidden digital piano again i cant see
sequencing tirgged with Mac
3.Clarke Quay :Luna (Chinese top 40,local, taiwan?..occasional english songs?)
super la....but he seldom use all..got two ultimate tower stands 3 stacks each.
triton classic,M3, m1(??),(extreme?) cant see the digital piano. 6-7 in all! cant reali see leh.
love it when he chut his clavinet chops at super speed.. nice bells and EPS..occasional jazzy solo?
smapling and sequencing seem to be trigged by drummer.
4. Dragon Fly (queen band) Chinese POp Rock.
love the image of the band as a whole...nice chinese typcia . EPs, piano and strings done very nicely.. super team player...very disciplined and gets job done ....sometimes the DJ helps with the sequencing? also saw the guitarist triggering the intros sometimes.??
5.CHijmes (Le Baroque:Shaggies) Top 40.
lao jiao white hair guy. come cool organs and synths..the last time i heard them i recalled liking the way his patches alway cut thu in the band mix..yet without being too overwhelimg and still leaves spaces for the vocals etc..patch work generally sounds old school.no PC nor workstation sequencing i tink ..and once i hear him use automated arppegios for a MUSe song.?? without clicks for drummers..?? omg...i could be wrong..
shifted to chijmes La Baroque from O.T's balibago i tink...cant reali see his gear at la baroque.
NO. 6-99? cant recall the rest or not worth mentioning...leaving out the other genres and jazzy stuff cos tat too chim for me and up to u guys/gals to fill up...
So far never see any visually outstanding keyboaridist maybe cept for the keyboardist of luna's previous band . uses occasional keytar .heard the previous band went china liao? sma guy for superband season 1's Jade i tink.
i used to like douglas O's keyboardist but not sure where his band playing now leh since they left bar-none and then left la-baroque..
GIGs..
i still newbie..nevr see much keys at gigs...type so much liao cant tink liao..lol
.guys and gals pls share yr gig experience..wat u do> ?wat u saw.? wat pisses u.? any bright ideas?
any one wana share their experience/opinions of live keyboardists? dun see much discussion about live playing here hor....while we are a rare no. and always hidden behind our walls of sonic power doesnt mean we cant stand out !
1. How the pros and giggers play live. ( lazy or massive patchwork? sequencing or no sequencing? amazing technique?)
2.Stage presence (is this term even applicable to us.? visually? or sonically? )
I'm lucky to be amazed by some cool ivory/plastic tinklers@ pubs...these are my personal favourite top 5. do check them out!
1. LONG BAR( raffles hotel,local )
genre:Wiiiide!!..the band's playing for more than 10 years...from 70s to top 40s.
Motiff ,a roland synth and (i cant see) maybe a digital piano.
This guy is not lazy with his patch work....from organ solos to TOTO african bells to van halen synths to brass..got it all...even got the occasional sequencing with sound effects and stuff..
alota home work done! no PC sequencing.!.WORKSTATION and hardware seq is the way to go for this guy! and he sounds better than the rest below!
2.Notty girl( Next Step band,our dear frends frm the phillipines..). cool guy who sings both lead and backup, does occasional sequencing, both intros(non clicks) and full song clicked sequencings...knows when to push and pull his chops and punches...(knows when to destroy the guitarist and when to support the 6-stringer basking in self obsessed limelight...)
Korg micro X, roland Juno G, some hidden digital piano again i cant see

3.Clarke Quay :Luna (Chinese top 40,local, taiwan?..occasional english songs?)
super la....but he seldom use all..got two ultimate tower stands 3 stacks each.
triton classic,M3, m1(??),(extreme?) cant see the digital piano. 6-7 in all! cant reali see leh.
love it when he chut his clavinet chops at super speed.. nice bells and EPS..occasional jazzy solo?
smapling and sequencing seem to be trigged by drummer.
4. Dragon Fly (queen band) Chinese POp Rock.
love the image of the band as a whole...nice chinese typcia . EPs, piano and strings done very nicely.. super team player...very disciplined and gets job done ....sometimes the DJ helps with the sequencing? also saw the guitarist triggering the intros sometimes.??
5.CHijmes (Le Baroque:Shaggies) Top 40.
lao jiao white hair guy. come cool organs and synths..the last time i heard them i recalled liking the way his patches alway cut thu in the band mix..yet without being too overwhelimg and still leaves spaces for the vocals etc..patch work generally sounds old school.no PC nor workstation sequencing i tink ..and once i hear him use automated arppegios for a MUSe song.?? without clicks for drummers..?? omg...i could be wrong..
shifted to chijmes La Baroque from O.T's balibago i tink...cant reali see his gear at la baroque.
NO. 6-99? cant recall the rest or not worth mentioning...leaving out the other genres and jazzy stuff cos tat too chim for me and up to u guys/gals to fill up...

So far never see any visually outstanding keyboaridist maybe cept for the keyboardist of luna's previous band . uses occasional keytar .heard the previous band went china liao? sma guy for superband season 1's Jade i tink.
i used to like douglas O's keyboardist but not sure where his band playing now leh since they left bar-none and then left la-baroque..
GIGs..
i still newbie..nevr see much keys at gigs...type so much liao cant tink liao..lol
.guys and gals pls share yr gig experience..wat u do> ?wat u saw.? wat pisses u.? any bright ideas?