lead guitar and rythm guitar

Zero93

Hi i'm new to guitar, am i right tt electric guitar is lead guitar and rythm guitar? then how is it different?

can be both. it's usually both unless u play like the current santana then it's lead guitar!

so means most electric guitar can play both?

depending on what kinda music music your playing, you can play lead/rhythm on an acoustic too.
basically in a song there are many parts, and sometimes what you can play is rather limited with 2 hands.. so that's where a 2nd guitarist comes in, it's just the playing of diff parts.. but as everyone knows the lead's part is usually quite flashy

Keith, am I right to say that you're speaking of a typical 5 piece band?

I think in bigger setups like a big band and orchestra, a dedicated rhythm section would do solely that, focus on the rhythm aspects of the band's pieces.

well in a way, yes. electric guitars all function the same way. they sound different mainly from the pickups which are installed in them.

the conventional way to getting lead sounds and rhythm sounds is from the type of distortion used (either from amp or from pedals) and EQ applied to the signal. not this guitar is better for lead and that guitar is better from rhythm, at the level we're talking about.

at most, it's just the change of pickup position from bridge to neck as they give different voicing on the same guitar.

Keith, am I right to say that you're speaking of a typical 5 piece band?

I think in bigger setups like a big band and orchestra, a dedicated rhythm section would do solely that, focus on the rhythm aspects of the band's pieces.

yea you're right, but even in a 4piece band they would resort to recording the rhythm as a backing.. although pretty much the same but the vibe of seeing someone actually play life is very much different from watching someone play live over a track