Japan!

roninriot

Banned
Hey I'm planning on going to Japan in early June and am looking for extra fun people to travel with! Will be staying at a friend's place at the countryside for a while before taking the bullet train to stay in Tokyo / other parts of Japan for a week or so. Anyone who's planning or hoping on going there pls leave a message or SMS me at 94509294. Maybe we can share costs and travel in a bigger group with your friends and mine to see and meet new people, try new food and dress in a unique way outside of Singapore. Am just looking for anyone who's willing to lose themselves in the frenzy of exploring the land of the rising sun from top to bottom.

Sayonara!

Levan

Envious man, I've to wait a few years then can go :( Last time I went was in Pri school sia, no memories and I like Japan alot. Looks beautiful just from my tv lol.

Yo, Levan.

How much are you budgeting for the trip? 7 days?

Gosh, I miss the days when I got to spend like less than S$1k for a four day trip everytime I head down to Tokyo to visit my ex-girlfriend.

Airticket with ANA that time cost me S$460 cos I knew someone in a travel agent, sometimes stay at her place and sometimes got a cheap hotel room at the Asakusa area, sometimes she cooked, sometimes she drives. So, got to save a lot and still enjoy Tokyo. :-D

But I really wish to go again but this time wanna visit Hokkaido and Osaka too lah. But now she's based in the US (tour guide) so can't rely on her anymore. I have a few other female friends though but lost contact with most of them since two years ago liao.

Man, the memories of waiting in line to go into the Magic Castle at Tokyo Disneyland and having small hailstones raining down gently, and riding in the gondola in the cool winter evening at Tokyo Disneysea, was nothing short of magical man.

Everyone should go there if they have the opportunity.

Japan is very clean, the girls there are so pretty, the technology and fashion is amazing, the nature is breathtaking, the architecture of the buildings are so cool, the music scene don't say lah, and the food is sooo delicious (not all) lah. It's a WOW!-inducing experience, I tell you.

I LOVE Japan!!!

:mrgreen:

The budget is quite large I'd pressume. Anyone has any clue on where to get cheap lodging etc? It'd be such a cool music place to check out too, really a trip of a lifetime. I hope something can materialize, but I think it'll require a lot of saving of cash by every one, including myself :S But so worth it lah!

You probably really need to plan ahead for the music.
http://www.tokyogigguide.com/
and the other places like superdeluxe, womb and the shinjuku pit inn.

try this for maps of the place in english.
diddlefinger.com
because google maps is japanese only

If you like to get slightly off the beaten path, koenji is an interesting place to be in tokyo. Lodgings are probably cheaper there too.

the girls there are so pretty, the technology and fashion is amazing:

check out Akihabara as well (near tokyo).. being quite a manga freak myself, i heard it's where you see unique personalities in cosplay costumes (dont know why they all there)...

there's also electronics there too

but i still say the girls in japan are soooooo pretttty....
KAWAII!!!!

check out Akihabara as well (near tokyo).. being quite a manga freak myself, i heard it's where you see unique personalities in cosplay costumes (dont know why they all there)...

there's also electronics there too

but i still say the girls in japan are soooooo pretttty....
KAWAII!!!!

Ya, saw them on a Sunday at Harajuku, I think. Can't remember lah.

But really cool man, their kids and their culture.

I remembered I loved to take photographs with the women on the streets wearing kimonos. Not those summer yukatas but real kimonos. Occassionally a pair of them would walk by and they would always oblige when we ask. Hehehe.. :mrgreen:

I don't know if it's the fact that I was away from Singapore or something but I remember I couldn't stop smiling even when I just saw the Japan sky from the plane's window. Sometimes went during winter then walking in the streets with freezing winds blowing, I would still smile like an idiot.

Did I say I LOVE Japan? Kekekeke...

how is it for a non-japanese speaker to communicate with the people? i've heard that they dont speak much english...

Well. just make sure you go there with a local who can speak English lor.

Then he or she will do the speaking for you.

Otherwise, I think quite difficult.

I'd advise anyone to bring a pocket English to romanized Japanese if you are planning to travel there.

But Japanese is a relatively easy language to learn (for me at least). Well, at least the spoken language. For written, good if you are a Chinese.

Can understand the Kanji characters mah.

i saw at discovery travel and living about a very cheap lodging where it's a small space just for one person to move around...

something like a small cubicle with a tv on top..

not for people who are clastrophobic or smth.. lol

this is a really helpful thread. i long to visit japan. someday.

my japanese is limited to common words used by the actresses in some of those popular japanese videos

this is a really helpful thread. i long to visit japan. someday.

my japanese is limited to common words used by the actresses in some of those popular japanese videos

Let me guess...

The words are -

'Kimochii' meaning feels good..
'Yamate kudasai' meaning please stop...
'Dame' meaning don't...
'Yada' meaning don't like...
'Oki' meaning big...
'Iku' meaning coming...
'Kore' meaning this...
'Asoko' meaning down there...
'Oishii' meaning delicious...
'Chotto matte' meaning wait a moment..
'Dou desuka?' meaning how is it...

Muahahahaha!!!

Now, before somebody gives me a bad rating - these are everyday words that can be used in ANY scenario hor.

:mrgreen:

Eh you forgot 'Bukkake' -- now now james don't ban this. Bukkake Udon is actually a tasty noodle meal (you can WIKI it!) but of course it also means something else.

Yummmmmmmmmmmmmm!