how to sing high pitch

remenber

always remenber to start ur highest key.. then slowly progress.....
lol bro i low profile.. dont dare sing too much lol

See!!

My only suggestion right now is to keep trying along with the song, which is FGL's technique.. in layman's terms, your range hasn't expanded into that "section" yet, so constant practice to try "hit" the notes will open it up.

Tetra's techniques might work, but I always thought the balls-squeezing were a cheaper alternative :P ? LOL

Yep sage seems to have my game plan all figured out. Sometimes I sing along and can even do some female artiste pitch tunes (of curse not mariah carey or Celine Dion stuff doe).

As for the ball squeezing technique - I think Vicko has something like that in mind for us guys (Heckler I thick it was) so that we can do steel heart.

One piece of advice I must give is for all to try and really belt it out when trying to sing.... dont hold back. back in the day around 1995 or so I was believe it or not: working 9 to 5 (I use my voice a lot in my sales & marketing day job), then went to sing 2 sets happy hours 630 to 830pm followed by 4 sets with a band from 9pm to 2 am. 6 days a week. I also remember having a sunday relief gig at the time. My voice was a tad bit overworked but somehow or other natures tends to "self heal" and rejuvinates itself when you need it. I once even sang an entire set through an asthma attack.

I was never formally trained in vocals, I guess I just learned from the school of hard knocks.:cool: So it's really nice that newbies can pick up so manytips from some of the really great singers here in the vox thread.

how do you practise breathing cos i always breathe up to the chest but i dunno how breathe using diagphram

Water... i need more water!!!!!

haha..

sorry guys.. i can't stop singing..

well.. here's a great tip given my ex-bf: (yaa..sob..sob..)

k.straight to the point Muda.

what i meant was. . .

to choose a song that u really love love loooove to sing.
the next step, to sing that same song over n over again.
however, sing it fron the lowest pitch/tone to the highest pitch/tone n vice versa.
(or the do-re-me-fa-so-la-ti-do way)
it helps as by doing this, we will know where is our comfort zone for our voice.
once we know our strength and weakness in terms of vocal control and the way we breath n yadaa2,
we'll know when n where to input that in a song

as such, there won't be any ter-kehel parts when we sing
(umm terkehel in english what ehk?. i think umm. it's like eg when u wanna change from a tone to another, u accidently terkehel, as in.. ermm.. ter-funny liddat ur voice. cos some songs u know laa.. it's a low tone.. suddenly... have to screeeaaaaaammm ur lungs out!)

waduuuh.. payah bangat tuuuuu.. i mean... that's difficult siaahhhhh...

hehe.

ok.TQ.

peace.

ouh ya..
Babes Conde told me that when u sing, the way to breath is from within the stomach.
Never the throat. i mean when you breath in, dun limit the air only till the throat area.
dun believe me u try.
U voice will be like, u suck helium from balloon liddat..
nyehehehehe..

Sit up straight. dun strain ur neck n voice when singing.
that's common sense lah.
if ur neck hurts.
dun ask me for axe oil okay?
hehee.
kid-din.

:D

FGL - can make sure this Muda Wan attend our next vocal hangout?

So far only got two girls. One Chinese (Grace) and one Eurasian (FGL, eh salah, Jasmine)

So, get this Melayu jamboo and another Indian sareke and we are good to go.

Hahahahaha!!!!

:mrgreen:

what the fish. Muda Wan?

u think i bapok issit?

Muda (gerl name)
Wan (Boy name)

Choi ah u!!

nyehahaha..

:D

D.Young.(Muda).1

1 = Wan ape...

Kan dulu ada Malaysian singer nama dia Wan.

Pompan ape tu...
ouh..Hehe..

Sorry oopS.
Oops Sorry Laaah.

Gdnite..

anyways, really wanna thank u guys for giving me all the warm welcome here.
I'm so new here yet all of you here are really genuine people.
Appreciate it lots! :D

ouh ya, since i'm here already, i'll only be back in SOFT in a few days time la guys.
At home, my comp old already, got virus, no vaccine can help. haha.
Thereby i'm gonna be on leave for about 4 days.
See u then!

Take care everyone.
Peace n Love.

D Muda Wan OutS ;)

D.Young1 - ignore Heckler - he's now dating Vicko - his mind abit fried .. :mrgreen:

Can fgl sing duet wt D.Young1 at next vocal hangout? Shud be killer;)

Bro heckler, enjoy yr tete tat tete with Vicko 2day at Orchard ya bro .... hee heee.... ;)

I happen to have a meeting with a client at Inter-Continental Hotel later, she said she wanna belanja me coffee at Starbucks or something.

Cannot say no right... You already rejected her.. so, I am the gentleman.

She invited me to her house but I very scared.

I'm still a virgin...

:mrgreen:

LOL wtf?!
you, virgin? ahahhahahahahhahahahahha.
like real, shall i link them to all your escapades?
hahahahahhahahaha.

anyway didnt even meet heckler.
his client talk so long.
from 4 to 5.30 wait till sian so i go home LOL.

I am truly speechless .......... :confused:

U guys are bantering again - take to the kaki nang area please.

Err.... okay, back to the topic.

I know one way to check for proper breathing, but I'm not sure I know how to put to words the way it's supposed to be done :/

Your ribcage will expand if you take a full proper breath, so try taking a breath, letting your tummy expand, shoulders not lifted, and take a breath. That's the proper breathing technique. You can check whether you've got this right by putting your hands into a fist and placing them at your sides, where the ribcage is. You'll feel the fists being pushed away as your ribcage expands..

Ya, it's the same like when you see babies breathe.

Their tummies go up and down very cutely.

It seems that we all are born to naturally breathe into our diaphragm but somehow forget this as we grow older.

Maybe because babies are short so, it's easier for the air to go all the way down. :mrgreen:

Anyway, using the diaphragm to push air out can really make a difference, in terms of power output, if you really want to sing out loud and high.

The reason is you are not stressing your vocal chords so much (wrong technique) but instead using your diaphragm. This is especially for the power screams that are not executed with falsettos.

Just don't try this at karaoke lah. For recording and 'live' performances, definitely recommended.

If you do this in karaoke, you'll burst your friends' eardrums and in a year's time, you guys may have to communicate using sign language liao. :mrgreen:

Well, the other point I want to make is to know how exactly your vocal chords work. In general, the theory is that lower output volume equals to higher pitches. In other words, you must reduce your volume output as you climb to the highest pitches.

This can only come through practice because, you may not be in the right condition at that moment, but as you practice regularly in the right condition (relaxed, not sick at the moment, right frame of mind, tummy not full with food), you'll definitely find out how high you can go.

one thing in mind

when you are singing breathing.. slow breath through nose.. quick is mouth... remenber theres a breathing exericse every morning u must do it for 15min... early in the morning..