For Metalheads - Thoughts on Corpse paint.

is there anyway a band can like ' overdo ' it ?
somehow. maybe too exaggerating. or stuffs like that ?

I think the general stature of it is already considered overdone (to me lah..)... unless some bloke out there performs naked and covered tip to toe in corpsepaint.., that's the only way I can think of it being overdone haha..

My band tried some simple corpsepaint out during our first gig... At that time, we were just trying to have the imagery fit in, but that was our first and last time.
Mostly because they were hard to remove, and they get into our eyes when we sweat :P Maybe that's why you don't see much of them around here? Also... I don't think we need it? I don't know, I'm not speaking for the rest of the metal bands but we're more concerned on general showmanship and headbanging together lol.

I still get people mistaking my foundation-makeup as corpsepaint on stage sometimes -_-

I have no views on corpsepaint or where they belong; I do have a theory tho that corpsepaint, with their black markings/designs/melted eyes look whathaveyou on the faces, are generally used by the band to make their facial expressions more intimidating/scary, which to some, is the dominant factor in fitting their image with the metal music they're playing.
The corpsepaint (white) just generally helps those markings stand out. Well come to think of it, corpsepaint helps refine your facial lines so that your grimaces are more obvious.

But yeah, most of them metal musicians don't give a hoot about it much other than for those reasons ^^.

leche lah mus put on then remove...all in the public toilet hahaha....unless u really have a decent dressing room and airconditioned venue esp in this humid region........

but cheers to those who wear it!!!! salut!!!!

It's really hard to take off! My band had to leave after the gig with specks of white all over their face -_o

Like what Sage said, I reckon it's all about the show. You don't see them jamming in corpse paint, it's only when they're out playing/doing interviews etc that they actually have their faces done up.

Well I think it just all goes down to the image you want you and your band to have.
Corpse paint really brings out the true death metal, Norwegian death metal look but alot of death metal bands out there now don't even bother with the whole corpse paint thing like bands like Waking The Cadaver, Annotations of an Autospy and yadayada you get it.
But it still all goes down to how good you sound and how your showmanship is.
so yup. :D

and Hello!
I'm like new so yup, Hello.

hellow and welcome to soft !
hmm , DEATH metal ? i see more , and MOST black metal bands using corpse paint more than death metal bands i should say. including Blackened Death Metal.

nahh. corpse paint does look scary , but it was started by Ohlin of Mayhem to express himself in the black metal scene i mean.. and then this 'tradition' was passed down . from what i learnt. yeah.
but if you're talking out of the black metal scene , then corpse paint was used in the 1960s era by bands like Alice Cooper, Secos e Molhados, Arthur Brown and then a decade later , by KISS. yeap.

depends on how you wear em and who wears em for u . the person must be someone who deals with corpse paint frequently or smth .

the person must be someone who deals with corpse paint frequently or smth .

that's a scary thought... you may end up looking like this:

mayat1.jpg

8-)

hahaha. as in , not dealing with a corpse literally lah ! you know , those people who wears corpse paint for metalheads. hahaha. alamak , you ah .

very black metal. i've used to do a lot of corpse paint in the early days. very early days in gigs and band pics, etc..etc..

now err.. old liao