Do You Feel Tired After Practicing Rudiments - Is It Normal?

Hi Bros

I actually feel tired the next morning in spite I've been doing my Rudiments for at least 2 to 3 hours each night for the past 3 months now. Is this normal? Does any of you experience this before. I have long heard Drumming is Physical - but I though after practicing for 3 months - I should be feeling tired anymore now, but I still do...

Hm.mmm maybe I guess I'm old that's why lah....Please share with me your own personnal experience here can?

Thank You !

2 to 3 hrs is freaking excellant. i do tht too i i can tell u i find it damn hard. are u doing very complex rudiments with the click track? perhaps things tht dun fall on the 1 and cross bars like 5 over 4 or things like tht. stuff tht takes alot of concentration on my part i will def get tired. are u drinking enough water and stretching after ur prac? since i'm no longer freaking 18 i need to stretch abit.

wat rudiments u doing now? and wat bk are u taking them out of?

All the Basics ones

Double strokes using pull out techniques follow by
Singles
Flam
Ruff
Flam Tap, Flam Accent
Single Drag
Double Drag
Lesson 25
Single Ratamacue then double ratamaque
Single Inward Reverse and Delay paradiddle

then I have time - I practice also
Single stroke 4
Single stroke 6

I practice 7 to 8..then have an hour break cause I eat at 6.30...then 9 I contiue till 11 - then sleep

I do all these while watching TV..then advertisement I run to my kit practice it there and back...Kekekekek so funny like stupid like that

PS I practice like that for 3 months liao - I feel I have better stick control but I am still slow ley...chai-lat lah .... dunno when then I can play very very fast...

dun worry abt it, it took me 6mths of at least 2hrs a day to get my dlb strokes clean and steady. then after tht i worked on speed and rudiments and all tht jazz. hey do some hand and foot co ordination as well. mix it up abit

omg, running to the kit and back, that's some intense rudiment training there.

er, share my experience:

i don't really keep track of time when practicing on rudiments
(guess abt 2hrs? keep listening to deep purple best album twice)

i do stretches b4 and after.

and in between abt 30mins, i get down on da floor and pop a few pushups (i am very unhealthy with da ciggs i smoke everyday)

basic rudiments(no flams, drags), try to cover all of them before i feel i am losing my rhythm.

er, i dun feel tired from the wrists, but rather from the pushups.

maybe not enough?

Thank you all and Bro blurred..yes I lack leg practices eg Double Bass Drum (I never practice this area)...just hands and one-leg.

In my Rudimental Practice, I cannot play fast - I look at the snare just to ensure my sticks height are equal and are low - so that I get the sound correct - in this 3 months I can feel I had better control with my hands - but tired. I now use a lot of Wrist work, not fingers anymore (dunno why my teacher tells me to use wrist - not fingers for now) and so I did.

I always had the tendency to use Fingers when I wanted to play fast (like instinct), but I was corrected to use Wrist...Hahahahaha quite frustrating initially, but now yes I'm into the habit of using Wrist-works...but tired ley, somemore not very fast.....

Ask him "When will I be fast har"...he say "Dunno - oneday it will just come automatically".....I say "must years or not"..he say "Yes".....aske him"How Many Years har"....he never answer me....wah chai-lat lah liike that - that's why I need alot of inspiration & motivation to keep on drumming.....

The good thing is - I develop a habit..If I'm not free at least I still do Rudiments for a little while, then I feel good...if I don't on a particular day - I feel lousy like uncomfortable - surprisingly I didn't know that this could turn into a habit kind of thing..but it's good

I have often wonder - to do Rudiments correctly - maybe as a beginner like me - I 1st would have to be able to do corrcetly the below Basic Rudiments.

Singles
Doubles,
Flam
Ruff
& Paradiddles

Then if I can do the above corrcetly (the way it should sound with correct stick control) - the rest of the other Rudiments are somehow a mixture of all the above...am I correct here? and If I cannot do the above very basic Rudiments well - my other Rudiments will not be good if I play them...correct or not?

oh yah most definately man, their just to get ur vocabularly up. dlb bass ah, wah i wld love to be able to play tht man. but how still working on one leg excercises.
gd leh rudi gd hands make u sound better on the drum kit, makes u sound smooth. control and endurance fisrt speed will come as a natural progression.
i need to knuckle down to my rudiments also, all those flams and things its been a gd 2yrs since i've sat down and had a go at them.

right now i'm going through some ex tht use the rudiments as a ostinato for rhythms and using the syncopation bk to place my accents on hands and feet. its damn interesting i tell u!! ala mike clarke. he's the drummer for this seminal album by herbie hancock called thrust. sorry ah bradder getting abit hao lian right now but i'm just excited by the music and wanna share. he plays linear patterns, which is there is nothing tht hits together all separately. and its just so complex, loose yet in the pocket. something like wat david garibaldi plays but too me alot more complex. john riley calls it interdependence and not independence. cause the limbs learn to work with and against each other and not in a seperate fashion.
sori abit long winded. check it out

bro blurred..wah-law eh - you really make me blurr liao lah....I heard the term "Linear" before but dunno what's that - maybe I'm doing some of these stuffs but Kekeke dunno it's call Linear...No..no...no what I did was something call "Unison" I think.....Kekekeke :lol: Don't scare the hell out of me lah - I still learning to crawl (in area of drumming)...but it's nice to hear you doing all these kinda things - you come back here holiday - you call me har - then teach , share or show us somethind likw what you learn...ok...deal. :lol:

can no prob, it's quite simple lar just tht it dun sound simple only.
i like funk grooves, got sooooo many kinds of funk grooves loh. it's never ending but so much fun.
hey has jimmy taught u the going from 8th notes to triple to 16th's to 16th note triplet yet?
thts gd to do, helps with ur time

you mean...playing these eg 8th to triplet to 16th to 16th note triplet izzit accelerating the speed and then back...something like that izzit - This I've done completeting both Yamaha Book 1 & 2 liao during my lessons this one year?....or did I misinterprete wrongly har?

Now I'm just focusing on Rudiments alot (cause I never really practice it) - I am learning Morph from Rock, Shuffle, Funk, Jazz Swing to those Samba, what...Latin Brazilian kine of Beat now lor...

I wanna learn how to play Jazz now - it's very nice - but I only know 8 songs lah - so I must try to find a group to Jam with me on Jazz from now on.

and I am not learning from Jimmy Lee lah bro.

I love FUNK...it's very very Groovy...like that John Blackwell, somemore got Ninchaku Kang-Hu one - I try to learn and managed to do some of it Hehehehe cause I have the DVD - He does teach us how he do it - Funk is nice.eeeeeeeeeeeeee one of my favourites

yup something like tht man. yah shit man i really need to get my samba happening, haiz so much to do haahhaha. jazz ah get tht ride cymbal happening, the john riley bk is really gd. wat kind jazz u wanna learn how to play? bepop, big band or trio kinda stuff?
check out the diana krall albums, jeff hamilton is playing, this more pop kinda jazz easier to hear the changes. chick corea is gd for jazz and latin, check out this album called light as a feather with airto moira i think i splet it wrong.

diana krall - I love her singing.. jeff hamilton - he make me blurr especially that Bemsha Swing Kekekeke !

chick corea - I neber hear before and I will check his album " light as a feather " thks.

Is There Any Text Book On "RUDIMENTS AROUND THE KIT"?

I have a book - but all the Rudiments are on the snare-line (even in a Solo Part wah 2 to 3 pages..chai lat man). I'm just wondering? If a drummer wants to be musical in his Rudiments of course he has to apply it to the rest of the Kit....but someone once told me - before I can apply it around the kit - one need to be playing Rudiments (in the pocket) before he can do so....is it true? - what he means is that - I have to play all Rudiments on the Snare Drums before I can apply them moving it around the Kit.

I tried moving my hands playing around the Kit - and I find it's not the same as doing it just on the snare, cause the hands are moving around - this becomes harder (in a sense of control) when Rudiments around the kit is applied using "Accenting" especially the "Ghosting Part"..... when I encounter this - my stick control is not so good - I can tell by listening to how it sounds...

Sobb.soob - Rudiments are not as easy as it seems right?

depends man, the rudiments are nothing but excercises to enable u the freedom to do watever u want with ur hands. it's a a okie i have to do this rudiment for this type of fill or watever. learn them all, spend half the time learning rudiments and the other half just dicking ard the drumset, let ur mind free.
the rudiments is a facilitator to open ur vocabulary ard the kit.
get this book called syncopation or louie bellson's modern reading in 4/4
use the syncopation pages to get independence

eric, for the practice , yuo should have some short break in between, like have some drink, or toilet. during the break, u'll feel your wrist is warm, and u'll feel like u wish to continue practice, coz ur wrist has warmed up. i think maybe u play at the timming which is out of your control, if u push to hard, will get bad effect, like hurting you wrist, u'll fatigue faster. but if the speed it within control, u will feel better and better, and very smooth. keep a click trap beside u is the best way to practice. 8)

hey guys im new here and im wondering if lets say u practice rudiments but the way u hold ya sticks is wrong will u still be able to improve? coz im starting to practice rudiments and im not sure if im holding it rite coz my left hand feels really wierd when practicing.. is this normal? oh and im right handed xD

That is very important - using the right grip and knowing how to expedite a certain stroke makes me play so much faster and not so tired liao now - thanks to Alvin my Instructor for this.