Digital Piano quandary!!

stephanie

hi,

i am a novice. have always been interested in learning the piano and have just started piano classes.

want to buy a piano in the mid-range (SGD2000-3000). definitely not a keyboard !! and definitely not a casio either.

have also read through the posts in the forum - have gathered that the clavinovas are no-gooders ! unfortunately, i was considering it to be a feasible option. but my options are still open.

just wanted to know from the well-versed - are the latest of the CLP clavinovas still as bad as the previous ones? and if so, which of the P-series or S-series of yamaha digital pianos would you recommend?

apologize for posting this query similar to others before but some of the replies are more than a year old so just wanted fresh views.

thanks

wad kinda piano lessons do u take? is it classical piano or pop piano?

u have to take into consideration of what kinda piano suits ur style for instance if ur taking a classical piano course , den i think a digital piano wif a hammer action keyboard should do the trick.if ur into pop piano , i guess any digital piano would do besides.... correct me if i'm wrong but i think a digital piano wif a hammer action keyboard is a bit more costly

anyways i'm also a newbie at piano playing but i'm just giving u as much info as i can although i rarely get to touch a digital piano.

am taking classical piano lessons.

ideally, i would like to have a piano but since it's quite a bit beyond my budget i am considering a digital piano - because i thought it's intermediate between a keyboard and a proper piano both in terms of price and sound quality/touch etc.

pls advice.

thanks

i would certainly advise u to get a real upright piano instead of those digitals.i know it is a bit costly but for me , i managed to get a nice kolher and campbell upright for 1.5k second hand.although it is around 8-9 years old , it still is in stable condition.