Difficulty in playing the F-Chord

gyaradoz

Hi,

I just started learning playing Guitar abt 1-2 mths ago...

I have difficulties playing the f-chord. Can any1 give me some tips how to successfully play the f-chord? like how to position my left hand, thumb etc? Or is there any exercises for me to make my left hand fingers more flexible to play the f chord

My forefinger keeps unable to make the first fret tight enuf to play the <f> note. I really find it difficult to use my forefinger to play both the <f> and <c> note at the same time....

The other chords, C,G-7, G, E-Minor, A-Minor etc all I can cope.. just the f chord I cannot........

my initial problem with using the index finger (2nd finger) to hold down the 1st, 2nd and 6th string simultaneously led me to use the other known method of using the index finger to hold 1st and 2nd string, and using the thumb instead to fret the 6th string.

practice both ways and see which suits you better.

gyaradoz, are you using the side of your index finger(the bony part) to press on the strings?
if you are, keep on it and you'll get it.

yar, when i started guitar, i hated playing the f-chord, used to call it the fuck chord, but now after getting used to barring the chord, its really useful, and you can use the 5 different shapes of holding a major chord and move them around the neck to get different major chords

Had the same problem initially. Lots of practice (to strengthen the fretting hand) and a proper guitar setup will make it easier.

I know what you mean man, I can't play it properly either.

barre the 1st 2 strings then put your other 2 fingers into place. if you take your time and concentrate on where your fingures are you should be able to play it properly, then just practise from there.

but you must use pressure and really hold down the strings even if it hurts. you will get used to it.

Just have to say this , NO PAIN, NO GAIN :D