Avid/Digidesign ElevenRack - best gear purchase in awhile

adamqlw

Hey guys,

Time flies, I just realized that it's been almost a year since I bought my Digidesign ElevenRack. I'm still surprised on an almost daily basis by how good it sounds, thought I'd just put the word out there on an awesome product.

I am primarily a bedroom guitarist. I've been playing for about 15 years now for recreational purposes. Over the years, I've used a mix of solid-state, tube and digital gear (the Pod series, the Sansamp series, the Boss GT series, the Roland VG series, a Marshall Studio 15, a Mesa 50/50, a VHT GP3, and some other misc. things). For the last 5 years or so though, due to space/volume constriants, I have been focused on getting the best possible tone for me with the primary constraints being portability and volume. I was quite happy with the Pod XT Live when it came out, it was a fantastic value for money unit that I think did a whole lot of things reasonably well, but then the nerd in me pushed me towards a Roland VG99. While a versatile and interesting device, the VG99 never really seemed to do the meat and potatoes of my tone right. I spent a good year fighting with the unit, wasting almost 50% of my time tweaking and adjusting things instead of playing and recording. I finally got fed up one day and started looking around for a versatile rack unit that wouldn't compromise on tone.