warwick streamer or ernie ball stingray

orcfiend

hmm.. seems like there's a serious lack of bassists in singapore! either that or they lack computers/internet :(

anyway hey all! i'm new to soft yah. but i've been playing bass for 4 years now, gigged around quite a fair bit.. anyway enough about myself. ;)

thinking of getting a new bass, either a warwick streamer or ernie ball stingray. problem is, the warwicks at swee lee aren't really that good (or the good ones are upwards of $3000). and sinamex ernie balls are new (which aren't that powerr either.) lookin to get a bass with awesome tone, right now i've set up my bass to sound like flea's modulus/ernie ball using my ampeg ba115 but once i bring it elsewhere instead of sounding like lion's roar it sounds like a cat mewling. my current bass body is really hollow and the neck has poor sustain. anyone used ernie ball/warwicks before to give a good opinion? thks..

well, everyone says that the bass is easy..

i say that's rubbish, everyone has this screwed concept so they just go to the jam studio and pick up the bass.. and anyhow whack..

holding down the groove/timing is already damn hard to master.. and with the huge punk following in singapore ..no one respects the bass anymore so of course la.

but then again, how good do you want bassists to be? you want them to shred? i think for myself i can slap tap pluck use a plectrum know my theory can improvise can liao.. and basically have to possess a feel for the diff songs ..

?

firstly, not everyone thinks or says bass is easy. you're just unlucky so far. ;)

secondly, how good?

well, just 4 things.

1. knowing where all the notes lie on the bass
2. playing with more than just 3 fingers
3. discipline to fortify the backbone of the song and lock with the drummer
4. ability to recognise that bass more rhythm than melody

sadly, all these(very esp, the third) are lacking in alot of our bassists or pple who attempt to play bass.