Very Very Bad Experience at Guitar Workshop Bras Basah

abudan

Heres the story.

Ive been using this guitar (Gibson LP Traditional Pro) for 6 months. I didnt realise that the action on this guitar was considered a bit high until a buddy of mine told me so the other day. (Pls dont question me why I bought this guitar without a good setup in the 1st place). The action is the only problem that existed for me, there were no fret buzzes or what not. Anyways he suggested that I go to a luthier to get it setup properly ie lowering the action. I understand that a good setup will help me improve my playing and speed tremendously and enable me to execute difficult techniques more effortlessly, so without hesitation I went to research on guitar setup in Singapore and found Guitar Workshop Bras Basah.

From their website, you can see pages of testimonials written for their excellent service provided. And one section even included "All final products will go through the thorough scrutiny of owner, Mr Francis Poh to ensure the products and repair work are high in quality and that customers will be satisfied" Atlas, as an average consumer blinded by the overwheming testis, I decided that this was the shop Im going to, without even researching on market price for a guitar setup.

So the next day, I knocked on their doors with my guitar and requested for help. One of the apprentice immedietly served me with much enthusiam, noticing that this was a pretty expensive guitar. He went on affirm that the action was indeed high for fast playing, and that it that it would take a day to get this setup, ending his quotation by saying that this is just a minor setup and will cost only $70.

Without much hesitation, I allowed him safe-keep my guitar for the weekend, looking forward to playing a nicely setup guitar after 48hrs. Hooray! Thats what I thought.