Sonar X1 - amazing!

Cheez

I upgraded my Sonar 8.5 to the new version (X1 Producer) the very first day it was released (even before they sent me the email about the release). I was very hesitant to post anything about it because the first few weeks was quite a nightmare for me. There were some big bugs in the software which made me wonder if it was a beta version! Well, cakewalk released their first patch (X1a) a few weeks after they released X1. That fixed most of my problems. A few very small erratic things which doesn't happen very often now - which I'm sure will be fixed very soon in the next patch.

First of all, the new GUI was a nice change. A number of people didn't like it. I believe that was from the viewpoint of a producer. But as a musician, I was able to access most of my plugins softsamplers/softsynths without too many clicks.

The most amazing thing is the Prochannel - a channel strip within Sonar that uses extremely low CPU and is applied to every single track. Now, I'm not an expert in mixing and mastering. But I'm really quite amazed at it. I've been working on a piece for the past month or so. I just about completed the mixing and going to mastering. The Prochannel has 2 version of compressors, 3 versions of EQ (they didn't say what hardware they model after, but that's understandable - otherwise we would have to pay more for the branding), and tube saturation (2 versions).