Some questions about sounds.

Rollercoaster

I just wrote a new song and I wanted a thin, wide open, growling guitar sound for the chorus part. I had no problem having a thin sound as turning up the treble give me that and heavy is not a problem as turning up the bass gives me that too. However I do have problems coming up with a wide open and growling sound. I'm not too good with sounds but I do suspect that having jus the right amount of gain will give me the right amount of saturation (in the sound), thus resulting in a growling sound.Please correct me if I'm wrong. As for a wide open sound, I have no idea how adjusting the eq would give me that. I'm thinking of changing my pickups to achieve that wide open sound. The closest sound I can think of in relations to an artist is Randy Rhode's thin, sharp, growling sound. Um if anyone knows how to get the sound by adjusting the eq settings or changing pickups or whatever, please enlighten me. Any help would be appreciated.

open and growling...mmm...very hard to imagine...but the first tot that come to me is those bright and fender-like gain in those modern rock song...turn your gain level to mid-gain level......around 12 o'clock...and put in a short delay...if u have a bassy sound then turn up the mid and treble a bit...

I only have one cd with Randy Rhode playing live (in Ozzy's band). Most of the guitar sound on that cd sounds thin, trebly, wide open and growling to me.(Think Crazy train, Mr Crowley) I kinda figured I wanted that kinda sound for my song, not necessarily Randy Rhode's sound. I'm jus starting to learn how adjusting the eq settings would affect my guitar sound, and I hope someone here would advise me on how turning up or turning down the bass, mids and trebles of my amp would affect my sound, more specifically if turning up the bass would give me a fat sound, or turning up the mids would give me a honky sound or whatever. I appreciate any advice given.