Seeking advice on playing by Ear to figure out drum parts

xkyh

Hello,

To those that are experienced in figuring out drum parts by ear, how do you improve your ability to do so? There are songs in which fills and certain nuances happen too quickly (by my standard) for me to effectively make sense of what they are doing so I can replicate them in my playing.

Do you -

1. Build better skills generally, which will translate into greater familiarity with drums parts, resulting in you being able to intuitively guess at what the drummer is doing even if you can't hear him that clearly?

2. Is there a trick of the trade that you use to isolate drum parts? Are there books, software, resources that help you do so?

3. Or do you just improvise to the best of your knowledge what they are playing and approximate it?

4. All of the above?

Detailed advice sought, and appreciated.

thanks. I'm a drummer who's getting back into active and regular practice after a hiatus, so I'm still getting the hang of it. Share thoughts on this and other tangentially related topics! : )

Hi,

What I like to do is to just keep replaying the part until I get it. Sometimes I need to get on the drum set to slowly figure things out, or use a composing software that supports drums (e.g. Sibelius or Finale).

Generally a drummer's skill level with regards to thinking in terms of drum notations (theory) would help a lot when it comes to figuring out parts by ear because it enables you to break down and remember the drums bits with greater clarity. I think a good advice is to look at more drum scores while listening to the song itself to see how others break it down, you can get a ton of experience which would make things easier :)

Hi xkyh,