Real alternatives to sound modules (software)

Cheez

Personal history - started on keyboards, moved into modules, moved into sequencing, moved into softsamplers, sold all my hardware. Now, I'm basically using softsamplers for years doing sequencing.

But I'm considering moving one more step further - into live-performance using software. I know I've been posting this for many years. And I've performed live with my softsamplers many times. But one thing was amiss - all my arrangments were pre-sequenced. I can play live on my instruments, but softsamplers have limited capabilites for real-live applications. This has changed in the recent years. Now, I believe it is possible. Not only possible, but software provides MORE control real-time than keyboard synths or workstations. And it also provides more realism than any hardware available (which we already know).

OK. Here are the alternatives. Before I start, I want to show what it means to be using software live using real-time control that you cannot achieve using hardware. Demo by none other than Jordan Rudess himself using MOTU Ethno Instrument (if you guys haven't already watched it - thing to watch for is keyswtiching and crossfading which is a very standard thing in software we use all the time):

http://www.motu.com/products/software/ethno/videos.html

You can watch their MOTU Symphonic Instrument - video also by Jordan Rudess. OK. Now the news is this - MOTU instrument is really the lower end of the virtual instruments out there. It sounds good basically because Jordan was playing them. There are better ones. Ready....