Playing drums live with loops (hardware and software setup help needed)

vii_haven

Hi all

I've been playing drums for close to ten years already and play mainly in church and occasionally at gigs. My music pastor recently requested to play several songs with loops in them and tasked me to find out how to do so. I need some help in the following areas. I have listed my objectives of my rig, and the kind of help i need/the recommendations i need/the budget i have below. I have listed a possible rig that i would want to setup, please do give me comments and recommendations.

If someone who has been playing with loops before can help me with this, i would be very grateful!

Objectives
1. To be able to hear my metronome (Tama Rhythmwatch) through my IEMs
2. To be able to trigger on/off a loop (that is audible on IEMs and FOH)

Current Rig
Drums mic-ed, signal is sent to a Yamaha M7CL (FOH). Aviom is used for In-Ear Monitoring.

No electronics used for playing currently.

Hardware Setup

MacBook Pro (Loops played here) -> Loops output to FOH
Tama Rhythmwatch (Metronome) -> M-Audio Firewire Solo -> Headphone out (IEMs) (Loops, metronome and aviom monitor inputs)
Aviom monitor stereo inputs

Can it be configured that the FOH only receives the loop and not the signal input from the metronome?

Do i need a DI box after the Firewire Solo for the output to FOH?

Software Setup

I currently have Garageband and Ableton Live Lite 6. How can i use these two for loop playing? Are there tutorials online?

maybe i think small, i put all my loops in my ipod, di into system and back into my monitor (your IEM in this case)

but if you need a click along with your loops and be able to trigger on the fly perhaps an akai mpc might help. a notebook is troublesome, with the converters and latency issues, imo. plus they're not as sturdy as a dedicated machine like mpc.