Old keyboard not working / Digital piano for beginner pianist

triface

Hi everyone.

TL;DR: Keyboard not powering on. Workable? I want a digital piano / keyboard that emulates action of an acoustic as cheap as possible (open to buying second-hand). Suggestions?

I've been playing guitar for about 4 to 5 years now, and recently I've had an interest in learning to play the piano.

I dug out my elder sister's Yamaha PRS-11 (Bought about 25 years ago. NOT a typo. :p) a few months ago to find out that it may not be working anymore, which really disappoints me. So, I'm looking to buy a new keyboard! But before that...

Is my keyboard salvageable?
Edit: I just tested it with new batteries and it didn't work. Could be an open circuit or the switch could be faulty. Approximately how much would it cost to get these checked out?

Getting a new keyboard
To be prepared for the worst case scenario, I've been doing some research on new keyboards.

I would like to first start off by saying that I honestly have no gauge of the prices, other than the 61-key 'starter keyboards', which I know for a fact are going for like $100 - $200. I've looked around some websites (I remember going to the Casio one yesterday.), but I haven't really been paying attention because I would like to get some recommendations to start off my research first.

I believe I will focus mainly on classical music, though I might move into the zones of electronic every now and then just for giggles. I understand that this might mean buying a weighted 88-key keyboard, which I'm fine with.

Also, as a result, it is moderately important for me that the piano sounds are at least tolerable, and not...fake-sounding. Budget still comes first, but after that it's this.