Newbie wants to learn guitar

NovicePing

Hi,
I'm a newbie wants to learn how to play guitar. I've just borrowed an old Yamaha acoustic guitar G-225 from my bro. It has been around for 20 yrs. May I know if it still can be used? Just by replacing wiith new strings? Or do I've have to get a new guitar for learning as hobby.

BTW, i'm planning to learn from school..haven't decide on which one yet due to schedule.

Many thanks!

Last edited:
If the neck is playable, the body/hardware not falling apart, go right ahead and change those strings and you'll be fine :) Do get someone more experienced to change the strings for you and to tune it up. Get him to teach you basic tuning while he's at it haha. Welcome to the wonderful world of guitar!

That look totally playable. Guitars generally get better with age, and yamaha are well made instruments. Take it to any guitar shop they will often change the strings for you if they are not busy. As it's old and probably unused, buy some guitar polish and give it a good clean with the old strings taken out.

Thanks DeninKL and Vax... I just bought D'addario classic nylon strings and a tiny fender chromatic clip tuner. I'm trying to fix it myself... Anyhow when I join a guitar class , the teacher can help me to fine tune it. Went to Yamaha, they don't have such service unless you are their students.
However, I want to play English and mandarin pop songs...not sure which one to enroll with my classical guitar... An acoustic pop guitar class or Yamaha classical guitar class?

Thanks DeninKL and Vax... I just bought D'addario classic nylon strings and a tiny fender chromatic clip tuner. I'm trying to fix it myself... Anyhow when I join a guitar class , the teacher can help me to fine tune it. Went to Yamaha, they don't have such service unless you are their students.