Jumping back into the music production scene - LOTS of questions!

nikolaiski

Hello all!

Lately, I have been thinking of jumping back into the business of music productiong after having previously sold my equipment, with the problem being that my tools were never that great or expansive to start with.

Mainly a classical musician by trade, I have only scored and arranged music outside the classical arena using GM, GS and a Yamaha Electone as a keyboard.

However, I am much more serious this time round, and I am thinking of purchasing the proper equipment, and seeing as to how I outgrow my equipment quickly, I'm going to go for broke.

My ideal setup would be one or two different synths connected to a laptop so i can score via Cakewalk, Cubase and so on in that fashion..but with the advent of such things like the Fantom G and OASYS, do I really need a computer, or can I get the quality of sounds AND effects of the top of the line synths/workstations in a lesser synth?

I see that there are TONS of effects to be hand in these new synths. Question is, can I harness them 100% when I score via computer, ie. do not record live, but edit by zooming into each track, note for note..

Finally, i would like to hear the opinions of those using the OASYS, M3 or the v-synth gt, as I can't really decide which one's better for me (before I go down....)

Take note that I am pretty much using this for underground, dance/house music and i am an analog fan, and I love combining analog with mono tracks like violin, piano or oboe recorded live.

hope this is not too long/confusing, and any opinions would be greatly appreciated!