Jazz

pianomankris

OK so most of the people in the keyboard section seem to want to learn some jazz theory ;)

I'll post some info.

First things first - those who want to learn, let me know, and tell me, theoretically, the EXACT level you are at, and we'll build from there, rather than 'going from scratch'.

I imagine there will be about 4 or 5 people here who want to learn jazz?

Cheers guys.

Don't forget guitarists (and others :))

I want to know about jazz playing approaches in general, but I am particularly interested in unusual sounds and also trying to understand what it means to play 'outside' and bringing it back again.

In terms of level, I've been playing for 22 years. I know intermediate music theory I suppose. I can read music (real time sight reading sucks though). I know scales and how to construct chords from them, maj7ths, dom7ths, min7ths, altered dominants etc.. Recently been working on 9ths, 13ths and voice leading concepts, but in terms of their application I am at a rudimentary stage. I have been learning jazz for about a year. I know how to 'pop and play' over chord progressions such as ii V Is, I know the circle of 5ths kinda ;), I have learned how to do simple substitutions such as tritone and half-step leading type. Been shown many common progressions, been struggling to really nails Autumn Leaves really in depth, been recently shown rhythm changes, How High The Moon (so I can learn how to cycle between keys), some melodic minor modes and a whole load of other stuff that falls out of my brain on the way home from my lesson to my house. I have a teacher whom I visit a couple of times a month and am hoping that this thread can augment what I am learning there.