Jazz Swing

7earsDoFall

Hello fellow drummers, I'd like to start drumming jazz and I'm studying from Jim Chapin's Advanced Techniques for the Modern Drummer. But.... I am already having problems with the very first exercise and I cannot seem to let either hand be independent on its own (i.e. play without thinking).

The exercise is... (in semiquavers)
Right hand goes - 1 2 a3 4 a
Left hand goes - 1 a2 a3 a4 a

Would like to seek advice from swing/jazz players on how I should get myself going effectively. my goodness... I feel so lousy =\

In terms of practice - Swing is not any different from straight beats. Of course, if you have spent too much time going for straight beats, you need to learn to count the swing.

A lot of people always think drumming is about coordination. While I dont disagree, I think a lot boils down to indepedence of limbs.

In other words, get the muscle memory of the left hand (and the right foot down first), once your ding-ding-a-ding gets etched in your muscle memory of your left-hand and your right foot keeps time on 2-4, your left-hand is free to comp.

BTW: The first few exercises in Chapin's book are all straight note-based - as like your initial message above a3, a1, etc. The swing comes in later and it will be even more challenging if you cannot get the swing muscle memory down. My opinion is that you skip to that swing-triplet based exercises first to lock the muscle memory of ding-ding-a-ding down.

That is the basis of Jim Chapin's book. If you think in terms of sequence, instead of limb movements in parallel, you will not be able to comp and improvise freely in Jazz drumming.

That is the main difference in Jazz dumming as opposed to rock/pop where it is more groove-centric and backbeat-based. In Jazz drumming, you have to think like a musician and play the drums as part of the music and that is what makes Jazz drumming a lot harder to grasp as it takes a unique and rather holistic approach.