Jazz Drumming

Phlemingo

After reading through another thread labelled as "Practising Jazz" and seeing the many friendly and helpful replies the guy got, I've decided to make my own thread.

Firstly, I'm no beginner in jazz drumming, but undoubtedly I still have a long way to go.

Well in a nutshell, I'm not sure how to further my playing. I get occasionaly "breakthroughs" when I get an evolution in feel, technique etc, but nothing concrete and instructed to work for. For that, I need the jazz drumming greats' helps! :D

I wish to further my jazz drumming to professional level. People like beboptang, for example, who perform at Barstop could perhaps give great advice in regard to my playing? I would gladly come down if I could and get pointers and stuff. And of course those who offer alot of theoretical help like Bor and blurred are welcome as well. I mostly wish for an experienced player to perhaps hear and give tips though? Because that's the fastest way to get a grasp of my level.

Some background: I started drumming in march 2006, but if I may say so myself I learnt quite fast >< I've got solid and high-level rudiments because of drilling by symphonic band where I first learnt my skills. Since I learn piano, I have good grasp of theory. I recently took the Grade 5 of the abrsm jazz piano exam and got a 140, so I believe feel is there. Yet I still feel that drums is the instrument for me; piano gives lesser orgasmic kick.

Anyway looking forward very much to replies! :)

Plemingo, perhaps you should invest in getting a teacher who can guide you along. Especially so if you're intending to make music a career and play drums professionally.