Interview with Michael Kalember (MisterK)

soft

Administrator
Staff member
misterk.jpg

1. When did you start playing music?

Well I learned piano at age 6, saxophone at 13, drums at 15, and bass at 17. Before I went to Berklee I took classes at University of Wisconsin, where I studied string-bass, piano, and classical voice. I didn't really seriously look at the guitar until about 7 years ago. All along I participated in school bands, jazz-ensembles, swing-choirs, pep-bands and even marched in a drum & bugle corps for a couple years. My first real rock band was called Hard Tommy, followed by Sweet Talker which was marginally successful. Then I was the lead-singer/ bassist for a group called Martyred Angel, and finally joined Raven Bitch (where I took over for the bass player, after he slashed his tendons punching a window). BTW, Raven Bitch was my brother's band and had quite a bit of success. But in 1988 him and I both decided to quit and go to Berklee.

2. How was life at Berklee?