Headphones. Your opinion is valued.

shinobi

my rig is currently a shuttle 3.0 driving a hartke 210TP.

the hartke cab was extremely useful in the past; it was light and powerful enough to lug around and blast at the ghetto gigs that i used to play.

now the drummer of my main band, who used to get all the lobangs for these ghetto gigs, has left for spain. the band was on hiatus for a couple of months but now it seems like it will be disbanded indefinitely.

my shit aside, there is no longer such a need and i have been thinking of switching to headphones for monitoring. i figured that by selling my cab i could get a really decent pair, that can be used for other things apart from bass as well.

I have no experience with using headphones to monitor a bass amp whatsoever. any opinions are appreciated

At gigs? In-ears might be a better option. If you see this as a long-term solution you might want to look at getting a custom set

nah, not at gigs. just for home practice. at gigs i will probably just DI from the shuttle, or just use whatever the venue may be providing.

thinking of offloading the cab because i don't see myself in a situation where i'd be bringing the entire rig down.

IEMs are quite pro but i'll probably not be playing at gigs that are so well-equipped to warrant using them...

I've found the Sennheiser HD280s to be pretty good value for money (and accurate) when it comes to monitoring... you can try those. Closed-back, very tight seal so you don't bother other people. Good for recording situations to minimise bleed as well.

In an ideal situation you'd have two sets of cans — one accurate set for mixing and another for general listening purposes.

Last edited:
imho. i got this sony mdr-700DJ monitoring headphones great for basses and last me for 5 years already. great for bass without crackling with distortion etc..etc..