from classical to electric

viper

Hi guys
I was a drummer before I decided to make a hop to guitar.I do know a few basic chords and strumming and decided to take on classical guitar lessons.I plan to take on electric guitar cause me & my friends are forming a band.
Anyone knows about how long or until what stage do I have to learn classical guitar so that I can take on electric guitar?

would love some advice

i learned classical guitar at first too. i didnt stay for too long though, after a few mths i quit, then i proceeded to electric guitar. i remembered learning finger plucking, playing on beat with the metronome, learned to read the music score a bit, and thats about it. i think it doesnt really matter when you are ready to step forward for the electric guitar, it's more to which instrument you are more comfortable with.

i started out with classical went up till grade 3 b4 i quit.. no time.. my teacher didn't touch much on theory only when it came to exams.. i still can read notes n play.. after a year or 2 i got my electric n wasn't playing much untill last year.. would wanna go back for classical lessons nx time..

you dont have to learn classical to pickup electric, or any other guitars. Same for the other guitars --> classical. Every type has their own distinctive style and even variants within each.

Classical guitar doesn't really help much on electric sadly. You usually use a pick on electric to play solos, unless youre an ardent believer in fingerstyle. There is the huge diff of string distance from each other. Its much narrower on an electric.

JUst learn some chords and play some notes with a pick, you don't have to learn classical to get anywhere on guitar.

in fact learning classical will slow u down if u're going into electric.. i was using my fingers to play when i started my electric.. the pick was kinda a pain in the ass.. i had to force myself to use picks.. :x

If I would learn classical Id go piano or violin.