dear all bassist !!

wind90

i am a beginner bassist who has just started learning the bass for not long . I have a number of questions to ask , is it really very impt to get the stuff like the triad arpeggios ( etc major , minor and augmented ) , 7th chord arpeggious , modes such as the ( ionian , dorian ,lydian etc) and of course scales such as pentatonic and harmonic , because i have some prob getting them into my mind.Anyone could have a better way of learning all these stuff ?

THX ! :p

yes, knowing all this stuff are important. Before u learn how do stunts on a bike u need to learn the basics and how to balance. all this theory will give u good balance in the future when you want to move on into other musical styles and techniques.

a good way to memorise them at first would be to use shapes like associate each scale/arp with a particular shape. this is the advantage of playing fretted string instruments cause all u need to learn is one major scale shape and just move the root around to have your other major scales. its the same with ur modes and ur arps.

Cover the basics scales first. Regarding modes later u will begin to understand. Hear the sound n rem it. It really helps. Like how a Major C and Minor C sounds different. Go step by step. Dun rush. U will get blur....

wow thx guys !! So the best way is to get the shape of the arpg and the scales into my mind first?

yup, learning chord shapes in different positions would be a good start. prob can start with the maj / minor / sus / 7 and then later branch out into the other extensions.

theory wise, i wld go for chord construction together with scales because i found they make sense together as you superimpose the shapes of the chord of the scale patterns :)

as bassics mentioned, the beauty is we only need to go thru this exercise once.. then just shift around over the neck, much to the envy of the n wind n piano type instruments :p

...and take your time and enjoy the journey :)