Comparision Request : Roalnd FP-7F & Yamaha CP5

trevor98

Hi Guys,
Anyone could help to compare these 2, technically and playability.
It would be great to know "feel", if I were to choose either one, to acoustic "feel".
Mainly for my kid and myself.
Thanks in advance for all your feedbacks, opinions and advise.
Cheers man.

I have been a pianist for 22 years, an active gigging and teaching musician and am quite a gearhead to boot. I've been through lots of electronic keyboard instruments in this time. The question you raised seems to be in the context of using a digital piano as an acoustic piano replacement, so I shall answer in that context.

I haven't tried FP-7F, but I have tried the FP-7 and felt it was already a very good digital piano. Theoretically, the FP-7F would be equal or better, feature and feel-wise. There is a display unit of CP5 (or is it a CP1? both are essentially the same anyway) at Yamaha Plaza Singapura. I've tried that too and loved it. I don't feel that either model fall of short of each other in any significant way. We could discuss about nit-gritty differences between the two, but they would only matter to the most discerning or fussy players (which I for now assume you're not, from the general nature of your question).

Both models, however, cost quite a bit.. and for that money, u might be able to buy a silent upright piano, which you should go for, if u want an acoustic piano feel with the flexibility of late night headphones practice.

Hi Iansoh,
Thanks for your explanation. Really glad to have your experienced feedback.
Right, I am hoping not to invest an acoustic, just for my kid's grading.
Hearsay, that Roland's keyboard is very hardy and reliable.
Yeah, you're right, as I'm not a fussy, just hope selection would allow my kid to be useful in his exams / test.

Thanks for bringing up silent upright.
Original intent was also to have something that could be moved aroun easily.