Beginner's Package! Craftsman and SX Bass

staroh

Read the forum and it seems that there's a beginner package that cost $250 at Davis Guitar that consist of SX Bass and a small amp. Citymusic also have a bass guitar starter pack year end promotion that cost $390 which consist of amp, craftsman bass. I am thinking of getting the more expensive package.

BUT i am worry that i will put it down after playing just a while and let it rot because
this will be the third instrument i will be playing(excluding recorder). I played harmonica in pri school for 2 years not understanding the theory and euphonium for 3 years in school band being quite a bad player(mainly tonguing problems). It took me 2 years after i started playing it to enjoy the instrument and the passion for it.I am 15 this year.

But i did quite a decent amount of research regarding bass guitar and i am thinking of learning the theory a bit before buying it.

So should i get the cheaper 1 or more expensive package?
Thanks. Sorry for all the grammatical errors.

That's a nice story but there isn't much in there for people to help you make your decision with.

Good effort on narrowing down to two choices, and they're two decent beginner's choices too. After doing your 'decent amount of research', what considerations do you have? What factors are important to you? If you've not already looked through the many "help me buy my first bass" type of threads in this part of the forums, go take a look. They'll help you come up with more specific ideas on what you're looking for, then people can help you identify which option suits your preference better.

Is it a must for me to setup the instrument? So P-J Bass have more versatility but it can also sound like what a pure pbass sounds like , right?

=cheesedaele