bass-ing:how to improve proficiency on the instrument?

ianboy

hi SOFT bassists,

i just started learning the bass a week ago,switching from the keyboards (yes,as you have guessed,i switched due to demand :D). been practicing my scales and arpeggios since i got my guitar (due to tight budget,i could only afford an acoustic guitar...which i regret buying after a week XD).

i do have a little musical knowledge,given formal lessons on theory.i think i know how my bass line is supposed to sound like,but i have trouble executing it..any suggestions on how to improve my skills on the fretboard,like how do i train myself to recognize every fret..?

thx!

many people say that the best bassists play using their ear.

since you probably got the theory more or less down, there is one trick that you could use to help you execute scales etc;

the notes of different scales have certain 'shapes' when it is on a fretboard. if you can remember a scale as a shape on the fretboard, this will give you a kind of map that you can use to execute your scales.

this way you would be more familiar with the fretboard and eventually you will be able to feel and hear your way through it

thx for the reply!

i see...yea i noticed that all the intervals have the same distance between each note,like a perfect 4th is always d same fret on the next string,regardless of the key.which means every scale and modes of the scale will have the same pattern too,no matter the key..means i should keep working on my scales up and down the neck right?

how about recognizing notes on each fret?coz sometimes when i try to play basslines that span more than 2 octaves long,i can't seem to find the continuation on the lower parts of the frets (higher pitches).therefore its a dead end after i scaled up to the 4th string.

is there a practice method to pinpoint 'landmarks' on the fretboard,or will playing scales eventually get me there?

thx!

Last edited:
Can use the dots to help ya. double dot is back to one cycle.