bass drum....Improvise??

tom8jet

hi... ok i'm a beginner and i decided to get a drum set piece by piece..
may scrap the idea and get everything at one shot in the next couple of months or so...
BUT
i bought a bass pedal...
so right now i'm banging it against a box...

does anybody have a better idea?

THANKS

unlike guitars or keyboards, u dun really need a proper 5 piece set to learn to play drums or practice. use ayour imagination. but of course bnaging on a cardborad box wont give u a good rebound like a proper bass drum. go to http://www.vicfirth.com/education/educationmain.html and learn the snare drum techniques. can play on pillow with less rebound so u can build up on yer strokes.
try to use a metronome with dat to keep time. there are few other sites but i forgot the links heheh. ur eprobably not gonna be insipred cos u dun get to hear the drum sounds immidiately (in dis case, muted pillow/cardboard) but the theory is like as if u were to practice guitar on a high action acoustic guitar before u play a good low action electric.
hope dat helped in a way.

juz my to cents

I fully support the idea of hitting pillow.... i usually play guitar.. but once in a while when i sian i would take out my drum sticks and play on my bed... recently i played on a real drum like after few years of not touching a real drum... i found tt not only did i not lose touch... i think i even got improve... anyway that is also my two cents worth of advice... :wink:

Hello, just adding my 2 cents, =P hope it helps