Advice on Hi Hat choice

7earsDoFall

hello!
I'm a young drummer and have very little knowledge cymbal knowledge since I haven't played a huge variety of cymbals in my life. So, I'm seeking advice from fellow drummers who have played quite a large variety of hi hats to help me.
Well, The hi hat is probably my favorite part of the drumset beside the snare drum so I'm looking for a list of hi hats that...
-> Is for all genre/many genres
-> has very crisp/clear stick definition
-> suitable for intensive stick patterns and crazy stickings that is done on the hat instead of the snare drum
-> has NO metal cupping sound when opened and closed
-> nice chick
-> nice open sound
-> sounds expensive & professional
-> preferably dry sound but fits well with rock/open hat grooves
-> preferably brighter sounding (but not over-bright)

I am looking at high ends/pro/semi-pro (or entry levels if it really is good) hats. I do have a budget (perhaps $600++) but still, I want to know about those which are even more expensive. I'm open to all brands. So far, I can only think of HHX evolution, even though I have not played on it before. It will be nice if you can leave a approx price of the hat & if there's any studio's set with those hats. Also, I would prefer that your opinion comes from your experience. Yes, it's all about personal preference but I would like to have a list to look at as I might be a little lost at this.

Thanks very much for your time :)

Last edited:
Sabian AA regulars, zildjian new beats, AAX stage. Your budget is actually pretty high, you could get pretty much any pair your wanted! You could wander into the HHX/K/K custom range.

mel80 : hmm, checked the sabian website, the sample didn't really appeal to me, but, I watched a Youtube video of someone using these hats, 13", and it really appealed to me. haha, wonder how accurate the sample can be.

judebox : I've played on a 13" AAX stage but I expected more from it. thanks for your suggestions!