Which skins is good for metal players???

zack11

Hey guys, I wanna know wads good from Evans that is good for Metal players...I wanna change my whole drum skins to Evans...need your guys help...thnx

just use G2 coated. And snare Remo weather king :D hahaha and tune low. Metal enough already! Or if not just use pinestripess :D

I'm liking Remo heads more though.
This man speaks the truth.

Evans heads are nice, but they kinda "melt" easily and get random chips. My reverse center powerdot lasted TWO days before it started chipping/flaking off, whereas the remo amb that I replaced is marked but not chipped/flaked. Ugh.

But evans resos are nice tho.

i tink that there is no fixed skin for a genre its up to the individual and the wood of the drums

hi zack. try this combination. Remo Clear emperors on tom batters with Clear ambassadors on resonant. Tune floor toms really really low....heck. just finger tighten it. Try a clear P3 for your kick on batter. Make a porthole for resonant. If your snare is >10ply. use emperorX. <10ply try emperors. or ambassadors. coated of course. :)

Thnx freakae2...Bt, finger tighten???cn still produce tight sounds ah???

finger tight more THOCK sound lah haha.... the downside about remos are they're really pricey lah.....

cheapest heads THUS far comparing to all music stores is ranking.....

and yep best heads for this genre's would be 2ply heads which's more durable for heavy bashing.

WOw....thnx for the reply guys...i wanna try the combination n finger tight it....and i oso wanna try Evans rosos and Remo heads...can anot ah??....

the downside about remos are they're really pricey lah.....

I find Remo prices quite comparable, for the basic heads.

14" Coated Amb - $18 (swee lee after 20% discount)
14" Coated G1 - $17.50 (Ranking)

The special heads definitely cost more.

One thing you can do, zack11, is to check out the Remo artist page. You can find out what heads are used by drummers like John Dolmayan, Tomas Haake, Morgan Rose etc... Those may give you an idea of what artists in the genre prefer.

That said, it's all a journey of finding what works for you. Who knows, I could have the same heads, setup and tuning as Morgan Rose, but if I don't hit and play like him, I probably can't make it sound as good as he does.

Evans

hmm... just a few days back i checked for 14" clear pins and 12", the 10" go for 30+ already.. so minus the discount i calculate its gonna be around 22???

maybe pinstripes are abit ex?

Yeah, that sounds about right.

If you're comparing pinstripes to the Evans equivalent, EC2s, don't they cost about the same?

hmm, now idk ec2's how much but it'll probably be around the same price.... music theme's pricing for heads the most ridiculous lah..... 8" is the price of a 14" head... :P

anyways, i sourced out for 10" clear ambass and they also retail at around 30 plus leh...