Starting from Scratch

Gilgamesh

Hello friends,

I'm a total noob at guitar, at the ripe old at of 24...

I'm graduating from overseas university studies in May. I'll be coming home to Singapore and should be sticking around for the foreseeable future. Unfortunately, I have no job - finance majors aren't terribly in demand these days. So I have decided to spend my time in extending myself through music - namely acoustic/electric guitar.

I've had a few private lessons but the point I mostly learned is that I really need to practice scales more just to improve my finger agility/strength etc, and thereafter I could just learn songs via tabs. However, having spent a little time looking around SOFT, there's a wide world of stuff I can't seem to understand. Three things bug me especially:

1) Music theory - general theory, tuning, harmony...
2) Electric guitars and their differences - tone? pickup modding... @_@
3) Electric guitar effects... I don't know anythinggg

The thing that scares me is that a lot of kids get into music when they were young, like in secondary school and had all the free time in the world to hang out at music shops and stuff and learn, learn, learn...

Me starting so late, I feel like I don't have the benefit of all that time and experience, nor do I have the benefit of peers who'll teach me such things. Most of my friends are like bankers/scientists who don't seem to have time for music anymore and certainly don't have time to teach me!

My goal is to be able to play in a band - actually at this point I'd be happy if I were technically proficient enough to jam with friends! So I guess what I want to know is: besides spending time just practicing scales and chords to improve my playing ability, what can I do to fill the gap in my knowledge?