Pop/R&B/Jazz/Funk lessons for pianists (church pianists look here too)

iansoh

To the pianist/keyboardist:

- Feel like you've reached a point beyond which you can't improve?
- Feel devoid of ideas? Uninspired?
- Don't know how to tackle a new genre of music that you're interested in?
- Don't know how to introduce dynamics to your playing? want to learn some fat-sounding chords too?
- Feeling rhythmically challenged? Only seem to be able to play ballads and slow songs?

I can challenge you and push you to fulfill your potential, perhaps even play better than what you dreamed of. Did you make it thus far being mostly self-taught? Then you definitely have the ability to go further. Sometimes we need a teacher/mentor to help us unlock our own mental blocks.

To the budding pianist/keyboardist:

Look no further for a solid foundation in music. Learn the right stuff the right way and in the right order - early development and wide exposure to music is crucial. You don't want to spend later years unlearning bad habits or catching up on fundamentals that you missed out.

I have been playing 15 years, the last 8 as a professional musician. Prior to the 15 years, I spent 11 years in classical training. I have also spent 10 years actively in church ministry (retired now to coach new blood :)). I am comfortable with all styles and genres of music, posessing the necessary technical ability and theoretical knowledge to perform at a professional level, in both solo and ensemble settings. Importantly, I also continuously upgrade and update myself on the newest trends and developments in music. These enable me to coach any student in the direction he/she wants to develop towards.