Mesa Boogie in SG?

Lifehouse said:
Hey peeps, I've heard Swee Lee bringing in Mesa is it true? :D

Not sure if they're retaking the dealership but they were the dealer till around '97 or '98 if I remember correctly. Esden Trading has a couple of pieces, personally I find the prices a little high though.

This is the second time I heard about it. Once it was from my friend who is working under swee lee. Then from another friends who also had some information on it.

Anyway, looking forward to the rectifiers.. :mrgreen:

Well thats mesa/boogie.We got to live with it. :cry: Alternatively,get a 2nd hand at ebay :P Esden trading is earning a living too.No point bringing in mesa products thats cost them thousand over dollars still we want discount.Mesa/boogie dont give discount.I purchased from them mesa bass walkabout amp a year ago which cost me dearly man.I even ask 4 discount.But a firm no.Unless u are a member.Thats wats he said to me.He even showed me his catalog for the mesa price he bring in.one amp cost him $5000!But selling it at $4000.I have the feeling if swee lee to take in mesa/boogies,the price will be too expensive to afford for normal ppl like me.Do remember mesa keep increasing their price and agent have to keep up with that too.

Wow!! You bought a walkabout?!? I want one too!! :D I think ebay would be your best bet though... I had to email a dealer in AU to ask about the walkabout scout combo - and yes, it costs about SG$3k+
It's insane... I might just buy a SWR Baby baby blue from Swee Lee instead :p

Trust me, the Esden trading uncle makes little. My M-Pulde 360 was on display for 2years until i bought it. I plan to take it back again cause a freaking light switch doesn't work. I can live with it but I paid a bomb for that thing. Plus I like the freaking chio light LED. He's not really a dealer. More like a personal importer. It takes up space in his shop too.

MESAFIED said:
Well thats mesa/boogie.We got to live with it. :cry: Alternatively,get a 2nd hand at ebay :P Esden trading is earning a living too.No point bringing in mesa products thats cost them thousand over dollars still we want discount.Mesa/boogie dont give discount.I purchased from them mesa bass walkabout amp a year ago which cost me dearly man.I even ask 4 discount.But a firm no.Unless u are a member.Thats wats he said to me.He even showed me his catalog for the mesa price he bring in.one amp cost him $5000!But selling it at $4000.I have the feeling if swee lee to take in mesa/boogies,the price will be too expensive to afford for normal ppl like me.Do remember mesa keep increasing their price and agent have to keep up with that too.

How's the walkabout? Did you get the combo or just a head?

I saw a few Mesas at the guitar shop in Sim Lim Square.

The owner was selling for $3k plus i think.

Not sure if it's still available.

No wonder there was no walkabout... You bought it! Hehe.
I was looking for the walkabout but dun have. So i settled for the M-Pulse 360 the bigger brother.

Yeah man,esden is kinda importer dealer only.The plastic bag say PETCHSIAM MUSIC AND LIGHTING.I think he import it from Thailand.Maybe..

Colarndo said:
Too bad. I under use it.
Small house=no cabinet to blast loud loud.
I only go jamming studio once a week.

You bring ur M-Pulse to the rehearsal studio? OMG, not heavy meh? lol...

Got a back ache just carrying it for ten min to Mrt station, in a SKB rack case.

Too bad for public transportation.

Anybody know how to modify A 2 Rack Holder Case into a trolley?

Colarndo said:
Got a back ache just carrying it for ten min to Mrt station, in a rack case.

Ur too "on"... lol reminds of my fren, who used to carry his rack consisting of a 2U tube preamp, his midi controller, mesa 50:50 poweramp and step down transformer for jamming. lol and his place is not exactly very near any bus stop, mrt station or main road...

Yes - it is true that Swee Lee will be a Mesa Boogie dealer. This will take place before Christmas. I was there 3 or 4 weeks ago and bought a new Strat. I also enquired about the Boogie amps.

Although they did confirm that they will be receiving a shipment before Xmas, they could not tell me what models would be part of the order, nor would they allow me to pre-order.

It will be intersting to see what it is that they do get in - I wonder how many Triple Rectos or Road King heads they will be able to sell here in Singapore. More than likely, I see the demand for high quality privately used small combos such as F -Series, Mark I-Vs and those Nomad thingies. Wish they still made those Subway amps. Should have bought one when I had the chance. <sigh> Oh well.. saving my money now. :)

Wow!! Thats great news!! Finally can get my hands on a Mark IV combo!! But then its time to save and part company with some of my gears then... :(

But the Road Kings r soooo WOW tooo...

Woo! You gonna go for a Mark IV combo? :D
That's an extravagant buy - unless you are a rich man, then you'll definitely be selling gear to make way for it, but by all accounts (like on Harmony Central) once you've got it, you'll never let it go. I heard that they're very heavy though (they look at least 30kg i'd say) and very very loud, so difficult to use at home, but I understand that they have a switchable output stage that can go from like 85w down to 15w output or something? So you can get all the tone, but without killing any small animals who are nearby. A power-soak might come inn useful here too.

I'm thinking of an F-Series.

Either that or I say 'to hell with it - i can't turn up so loud so I might as well buy a Fender Cyber' since i don't go out and gig...

vernplum said:
Woo! You gonna go for a Mark IV combo? :D
That's an extravagant buy ...

Well I'm not rich but I do have a job which can definately support my random knacks of GAS.. Just have to do some major budgeting thats all.. :wink:

For me any tube amp with more than 20w is too loud for bedroom use. But I'm not gonna use it for bedroom purposes. My band jams frequently and we do have the occasional gigs, thus the reason for buying such an amp. If not its definately a waste of money to buy such amp and not using it to its full pontential..

Not sure how much Swee Lee will mark up the prices for the amps but its not gonna be cheap thats for sure.. U pay for quality, IMHO... 8)