Help! Something's a bit weird about this recording I made!

Okay, so I'm a complete newbie when it comes to recording, and I just use my computer's in-built mic for recording. Anyway, I have this particular bit of recording, and what I don't understand is that when I listen through it through my computer's speakers, I get this horrible dull thudthudthud sound, while when I listen through it through my earphones or through other (external) speakers, I get a proper tom sound.

http://www.zshare.net/audio/18869963e4154c65/

Here, I uploaded it online. My laptop is a HP Pavilion tx1000 with decent altec lansing speakers, while I'm using very old external Creative speakers (not sure of the brand), and Shure Sound Isolation earpieces.

When I listen to other recordings of drum or music or anything, the sound quality coming out of the speakers is quite acceptable. Not as good as through my external speakers or headphone, but I can definitely pick out what I'm hearing. But now, when I listen through headphones, I can hear a tom drum sound, but when I listen through the computer itself, it sounds really weird, like hitting a piece of rubber or something.

I have never had a situation like this before, where hearing this same recording on my computer and the speakers has such a huge difference.

Would really appreciate any help I can get! What's the reason for this happening?

Whoa, thanks! It sounds really amazing now, besides cleaning up did you enhance it too?

By the way, what was the problem with the original file? I forsee having to do this to a lot of the files in the near future =X

completely different drums mate ;)
you'd have to get a proper mic for one, computer mic wont cut it. its clipping (distorting all over the place)
out of what you have your earphones are the best bet for monitering..definately not the laptop speakers