Gears for voice/instrument recording.

Poolo

Hi,

I'm thinking of trying to do some small recording at home. Just for rough, yet 'audible' recordings.

Thinking of getting a microphone -> mixer -> computer USB port or sound card.

Are mixers flexible enough to work with our computers? I don't have fantastic sound cards with a lot of pluggins, just a normal red microphone jack and maybe USB ports. Are there any cheap, and normal mixer (don't need a very expensive one) with just maybe 1-2 input jacks in the market I can consider?

Sorry I am a complete newbie when it comes to doing voice recording with computers.

PS: For guitars, apart from just plugging straight into microphone slot (with a convertor), can the mixer help to be a 'middleman' too? Thanks!

Regards,
Poolo

suggestion for vocal/guitar recording

hi, i have an m-audio fastrack which i've been using to record voice overs and occassionally some guitars and keyboards. works really great, very simple to use and more importantly -- inexpensive :) just plug into your usb port and you're set. just add mic, guitar and headphones if you don't have multimedia speakers.

the product link is: M-AUDIO - Fast Track USB - Record Guitar and Vocals on Your Computer—Complete with Effects

i believe sinamex in parklane is the dealer here.

have fun!

software

forgot to mention that you can use free software like audacity to record and mix, completely within your computer! if you want something fancier there are a lot of inexpensive (relative to what they can do at $100-150) software available in stores here -- m-audio's own session, sony's acid music studio etc.

Hi,

Thanks for the hasty reply.

Yes I've been using audacity up till now, isn't bad at all.