Cymbal set...

drmmr

Hey, im looking for a cymbal set with 16" crash, 14" hi-hat...

Does anyone noe the cheapest there is out there by either Zildjian, Sabian, Paiste or Orion?

Just wondering - Do you mean BRAND NEW Cymbal Set ? among these brands. It won't sound good (I won't commence on the brands here for these Cymbal set)...but the most Value for money (taking account into sound) I guess will be the Paiste PST.

A better alternative would be to buy - Resale Cymbals - which allows you to get better sounding cymbals with the same price.......For Cymbals doesn't matter if it's a Resale or old one - it's the sound.....New Cymbals also will turn dark over time one............

Check with our Brother drum_hobbyist he can help you here on advice...

Eric

Want to buy... do it the first time right... "Get more for less" cymbals...

Bosphorus at Accent
Turkish at The Music Lab

If not in a hurry, can follow RD advice and wait for a good catch at the classified ads in this forum. Recently I got a good catch for Sabian AA 14" Concert Band hats for $160 after waited for about a year for a Sabian 14" AA hats.

I was surprised that no one want to catch this hats at that price... it is similar to AA Regular hats.

Do some filing at the edge to lessen the airlock and thus improve the swiftness and the crisp... great hi-hit to play with... 8)

RD... my very own Ninja cymbals... :lol:

P1010020.jpg

I'm upgrading my cymbals and will be selling my Paiste PST5 set soon. The set includes:

14" Medium Hi-hats
16" Medium Crash
20" Medium Ride

Am throwing in a Paiste regular cymbal bag where you can house the cymbals if you want to carry it around. The box and packaging are all still intact.

Contact me if you are interested. :)

Marc... those coming for the CSI workshop will have hands-on filing on my Sabian B8 Pro 14" Hats... I trust that the hats will sound great after that... 8)

Sigh. Don't say already. I actually ordered some cymbals online before the Turkeys came. That's why I was a bit sian that day when you and drum-hobbyist came to check out the cymbals. 'Coz the Turkeys are indeed value for money and much much cheaper.

Boo-hoo for me!

hey relax ah...

still it doesnt mean that the turkey haf the sound that you want wat..
maybe the cymbals you bought having wat your frequencies of your ears like instead of those turkey... hee hee.. no offence ah..
just joking about the name....

scared later alvin angry... hahaha....

anyway, wat cymbals you ordered ah??
mi kepo ah

LOL! No lah, I think it's quite funny when you said "I bought a turkey!" But yes, I shall also revert back to calling it Turkish cymbals. :)

I bought:

Zildjian 8" K Custom Dark Splash
Zildjian 15" A New Beats Hi-hats
Zildjian 18" A Medium Crash
Zildjian 20" K Crash/Ride
Zildjian 22" K Custom Medium Ride

Recommended by my ou xiang (idol in Mandarin, haha!) Brian Chase of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs. I love the way he plays, the way his cymbals sound, and the way his do all those quick accents on both cymbals and snare. He is one of my most inspirational drummers. If I have the finesse of Brian Chase, power of Janet Weiss, and rock solid-ness of Meg White, WHOA! I'm contended.

They haven't come yet though. Arriving next week only. Ordered online because Yamaha takes forever. Online takes a month at most. And guess what? I went to Bentley over the weekend and discovered that they stock most of them. :(

I tried man! Bentley's online service is not very helpful. I emailed in an enquiry, they added me to the mailing list instead!

So when I was in KL over the weekend, I went to the store and check it out. ALAS! ALAS!

Drum Hobbyist...that was a nice pair of hats...you filed...must be tough hey and very time consuming...if that was me - I just drill 3 lobang at the bottom of the hats....it was a great job.....always so innovative my bro...cheers !

Killerbee I have a question - The Paiste Cymbal Bag - Is it the Blue colour with Yelloe/Orange colour wording ones?

killerbee, so many zildjians..lol. thats sad. hahaha..anyway, i've got one qn! :D

is there any sound difference, or whatever differences in 13", 14" and 15" hi-hats? cause i've only used the standard 14" 8O

what's so sad bout expanding and investing ur cymbals??? U should do it now since the price of copper is skyrocketing...

soon u'll see high end cymbals like killerbee's retail TWICE the price.. hah, than u will feel much more sad..

for the 13" 14" 15" hats.. let ur ear do the talking...

I don't know if my observation is right lah.

Different make of hi-hats sounds different on their own. So putting the sound/tonal quality aside, I think:

1) Smaller hats are good for fast action and usually people use them for stuff like funk? But I also observed that with smaller hats, one needs to really hit harder to get a louder sound. But for accenting purposes, it's really short and crisp.

2) Bigger hats are naturally louder and good for that washy sound?

But I am sure the way one plays makes a difference too. I think weckl-x or drum_hobbyist maybe can explain and share their knowledge much better than me.

By the way, I read that Ronnie Vannucci of The Killers has a...18" hi-hat combi!!

Anyways, I need to play more on mine. Only used them once for a gig only! And the cymbals are so heavy that I hurt my back lugging to the gig. :(

killerbee, you're right. i personally prefer 13" hats because they are far more controllable than 14", and have a tighter sound. the wash is better on the 14" but i don't play music that requires a big wash.