Acoustic Guitar to PA System?

spasgnome

Hi guys!! Absolute noob at sounds here so i am quite confused about technical stuff! haha. Hope you guys can help me!

Basically i want to connect my acoustic-electric guitar with preamp to my schools stage, which only has XLR inputs available. How can i do this other than purchasing a DI box? If not, what kind of DI box should i get? Would using adapters and cables be possible?

Sorry for the relentless questions but i really dont know anything! thanks! haha

Well if you don't want to buy a DI, you could get a 1/4" to XLR converter. I guess that would work. But you might get unwanted noise cos the 1/4" would probably not be grounded.
Or, you could move the mixer to the stage, and plug the 1/4" directly to mixer.
But i'm guessing that would be too much of a hassle.
DI box wise, i don't really have a suggestion.
Hope this helps lol.

I urge you to use a DI, the 1/4" to XLR cable as tansamuel stated will be a hit or miss. There's also more to a DI than just converting your 1/4" to XLR it takes your signal and steps it down to match the input impedance of XLR, in turn you get better fidelity of your signal.

LR Baggs Para DI is a reliable unit that has a great EQ to dial in your tone and eliminate feedback.

DI Box

Hi, if you wanna get a DI box, a good reliable DI box that is not too expensive and gets the job done is the Behringer ULTRA-G GI100. It is an active DI Box for guitar with speaker simulation . Give you that boost when you need it, the construction is super rugged also. Check with Ranking Sports. It a reliable Di box every acoustic musicians should have - for the just in case situation and to avoid embarrassed predicament.

I'm using Behringer DI-100 and it gets the job done pretty good also, got 2 of them at home for my acoustic gigs. Can sell you want for $50 if you want to, mint, with box, papers and stuffs.