Strings

loldude333

I've just become the proud owner of an Ibanez SR500 bass today, courtesy of Brendon of BGW Guitars (2 thumbs up there), and i'm thinking of swapping out the OEM Elixirs as they're already dead, and they're too bright for me. I'm looking for a string that's really warm and bassy, with a midrange hump, long-lasting as well. Anyone can suggest? I'd also like to know what's the standard gauge for bass strings (complete noob at bass gear here, i'm more to the guitars side), and the pros and cons of heavier vs lighter gauges. Thanks all!

Congrats on the new baby :p

Pros vs cons of heavier vs lighter is the same as it would be for guitar. Heavier gives a "thicker" sound (not always a good thing) but requires more endurance to play because there's more tension, and hence requires more strength for fingering/fretting. Lighter takes less strength to play (also not necessarily a good thing) and this is subjective but some people report having an easier time evoking harmonics. If you make too drastic a jump in string gauge you might need to change the nut to accommodate the new strings' widths.

Middle ground "medium" for a standard set of bass strings at EADG is .45 .65 .85 .105; some consider .45 .65 .80 .100 to be "medium" as well, some call that a "light-medium" set. I don't know what the extremes are but I've seen lights at .30 - .85 and on the other end, .50 - .110.

Rotosound 66s or GHS boomers are a safe starting point. Google around for reviews of other brands/types.

Good reading material: http://www.tunemybass.com/strings/bass_guitar_strings_faq.html

Don't change your strings for a while, keep at least for a month.
If you find "dead" elixirs too bright (I don't think dead but still bright is possible btw, at least how I would define dead), then the only thing to satisfy your thirst for the low end might be flats; and if you decide to try start with D'Addario Chromes.