learning the basics of bass

kreed

hi all, how did all of u start learning to play bass? i mean,like what all of u did and who were the ppl u actually could try to mimic while u were a beginner...or any techniques that u feel is very essential to playing the bass? and how did all of u test out ur very first bass guitar,any special things to look out for?

i switched from classical guitar to bass. didn't like using a guitar pick.

the first thing to do is just get your hands on any bass and start playing. very soon you'll find yourself stuck... that's when u go on the net to pick up tips and tricks thru bass forums. a world of resources there...

www.talkbass.com is a good start.

and for that 1st bass bit, just consider what's in your wallet first, then work from there.

actually...i've been playing classical for almost 3 yrs alreadi...but wad i'm frustrated abt is that i see all these ppl who have played jus as long as me improvise at will and i find it hard to play anything at all...in short, i can only practise and remember but i cant seem to groove...

groove comes from within.. when u feel that ur mind is taking over and the power flows to ur fingers. then u start tapping ur foot and nodding ur head. bounce up and down.. ur drummer is getting high, and ur guitarist starts ripping into a solo!

woo wee.. it;s a tough life being a bassist.

somebody once told me that the music u play comes from ur perspective and experiences in life. and i think that's totally true.. sometimes, no matter how hard u try, u just might not be able to get into 'that' groove. feels weird.. it's totally not you.

dun find the groove, it'll find you.

:wink:

What works for me is - Dont think, Do.

Couple of things I thought of before as a musician:

1) Try too hard = shit happens
2) Thinking too much = not fun while jamming/performing

A wise musician once said to me:"Bass playing is the art of repetition."