Guitar upgrade, big baby taylor?

cookievil

Hi all,

I'm fairly new to guitar and here, so pardon me.

I've picked up guitar 4 months ago, on a full-sized guitar brand called fina, that has been given to my sister(who doesn't play, and has been sitting in the house for more than a year). I'm not quite sure how good it is as my google research only tells me that it's made in taiwan, and the rest of the reviews are written in chinese (my chinese is bad...).

Anw, i've been training to play chords and each time i placed my finger on the correct strings, it always just sounds.. off, (except for the G chord which sounds amazingly sharp). I am pretty sure that i'm holding on to the right strings and had already tuned my guitar. I've recently played on a super old yamaha guitar in a home, and it sounded way better than the one i have. So this leaves me to think, there must be something wrong with the guitar..

After much research i realised i'm loving the size of the Big baby taylor and the sound of it. But as the guitar i currently have is kinda free, looking at the hefty price tag of the Big baby taylor has got me kinda stuck. Is it normal and okay to spend $695 on a big baby taylor, considering it's size is different from the rest. In addition, where else can i get good offers if i were to purchase it. Any other recommendations are most gladly welcome.

Thank you all so much for hearing out. have a great week ahead! :)

a couple of questions.

why not go for a full sized but small body guitar?

for acoustic guitars, you have a number of different sized bodies which have different personalities in terms of the sound they give. for the big baby and the baby taylor, i find the sound rather thin and not enough bass end. that's cuz they're really small. try out some of the full size guitars in OM, 000 or 00 shapes.

next qn, are you very particular about the brand?