Craftsman EG-95 guitar review

K2desoog

Hey all! First off,
1. this is my first time writing a review
2. I’m in no way connected to City Music (except as a satisfied customer) and I don’t get any ‘benefits’ for doing this (hint - although it would be nice)
3. … and this is what I think (aka. personal opinion… heh) of the Craftsman EG-95 guitar

Aesthetically pleasing on both front and back, this made in China axe comes only in black including the hardware as well. The body is solid wood 5pc Maple/ Nayto. Tuners are from GOTOH(is it?). Not on the heavy side like an LP and built for Shred, Rock & HM (think Megadeth, At Vance and the likes). It looks suspiciously like an Ibanez RG 5XX. Overall, I’d give it a 7.5/10.

Stock H-S-H Black Hexagonal Pole Piece pups (hi-output alnicos I think, like its predecessor the EG-950) with a 5-way selector switch. 1 x Volume and 1 x Tone control. Faint hum when you select the middle position and ‘hum-less’ on the others. Nice all-round clean tones when plugged to a Line6 amp. This baby can do the chug-a-chugga and wail alright! The signal doesn’t ‘break or fade-out hastily’ when you play lead on the upper frets. All this depends on your guitar set-up (I do my own set-up) and your gear of course.

Full sized image:
http://www.citymusic.com.sg/webshaper/pcm/pictures/Craftsman/EG_Series/eg95-bk_lrg.jpg

I like the feel and thinness of this ‘fast’ neck! This 24-fretted Rosewood neck feels like the IBZ Wizard II and has a recessed neck joint for ease of lead playing at the upper frets. The back of the neck is un-finished and it takes getting used to especially when you slide. I waxed it (with Lemon Pledge! Oh the horror!) to get around this. There are two strips of wood running down the back. I don’t know the actual purpose but it does look cool.